Dutch Apple Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is a Great and easy recipe. my family just loves it the first time i made it i made just as the recipe shows and it was great. and i just made it again tonight and added a bit of oats to the crumble and i didn't have any apples so i used peaches instead and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roberts Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really good -- I modified this recipe only because I had to -- only had certain ingredients on hand. I chopped two granny smith apples, used to 1/2 pints of red raspberries. Did not have any brown sugar on hand, so used 1/4 cup dark maple syrup, two tablespoons of strawberry jam and 1 tablespoon of grenadine (just to see what would happen). I added all of this to the fruit and made sure everything was coated and poured into pie crust. Made the crumble and baked. This was really good but was very tart -- I was afraid of the pie being too sweet because of the maple syrup and the grenadine, but the granny smith's really kept things from being sweet. Next time, will use 1/2 cup maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This pie was very good! I used way more fruit though. I didn't have rasberries so I used almost a whole pint of Blueberries and about 5 or six small-medium apples. Then I added sugar to the apple berry mix. the only problem I had was with the crumble but it was my fault. I mixed it for too long and the butter melted. so it turned out more like a dough then crumble... but my whole family LOVED it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was delicious! Not too sweet, and the crumbly topping had such a nice flavor with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Used the topping here, with some oats mixed in, on http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-fresh-cherry-pie/detail.aspx for an awesome Dutch Cherry Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I really liked this pie. I used mac apples because that is waht I have and also I didn't have any blueberries so I doubled the raspberries. I also used oats instead of some of the flour. Who would have known that apples went so well with raspberries? It turned out to be a really great combination, and I will for sure make this crumble-top pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe was GREAT! My pie plate was a little bigger, so I did add a LOT more apples to the pie (I think it was 6 in total) and I used about a cup of each of the berries. I added the oats, as per other reviewers, but I think it would have worked out either way! Cooked it a bit longer, 45-50 min. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I doubled the fruit in this recipe to fill the pie plate and added about a 1/2 cup of oatmeat to the topping as suggested. This was a fabulous pie. My family couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This pie was perfect! The only thing I did differently was use half oats in the topping because I like the texture, and it was fabulous! When it first came out of the oven, it looked like the filling would be too juicy, but as it cooled it solidified some, and the taste was amazing! I made this last night and by this morning it was almost gone. I will definitely make it again and again. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added a little more sliced apples to the filling and added 1/3 cup oats to the crumb topping which meant I had to increase the butter in the topping just a touch. Baked at 350*, my pie was done in a little over 60 minutes. I did cover the pie halfway through with foil to keep the pie from burning. Very good pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States