Dutch Apple Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Very tasty! But only 2 cups of apples didn't fill my pie plate very well. Even a regular plate maybe needs more fruit. I'll definitely do this one again! Thanx Lindze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I added an extra cup of apples. I also added crushed up "Good Friends" Kashi cereal, and oats to the crumb topping. Delicious! I will definately bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This combination is so great! I took this to a "pie night" and everyone loved it. That being said I did change alot of this recipe to make it work. I doubled the fruit, I added 1 Tab of cornstarch (which was not enough- it was still pretty runny), and I cooked it at 375 for about 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This pie was perfect! The only thing I did differently was use half oats in the topping because I like the texture, and it was fabulous! When it first came out of the oven, it looked like the filling would be too juicy, but as it cooled it solidified some, and the taste was amazing! I made this last night and by this morning it was almost gone. I will definitely make it again and again. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Although this Recipe was good, I did increase the aplles by about 4 cups and berries I cup each. the Baking time was really off. 350 for 30 min was way to short. I left my pie in for an hour and my apples still came out crunchy. Next time I will Follow Betty Crocker cooking time for a french apple pie which is 425 for 40 min cover top with foil in the last 15 min to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I really liked this pie. I used mac apples because that is waht I have and also I didn't have any blueberries so I doubled the raspberries. I also used oats instead of some of the flour. Who would have known that apples went so well with raspberries? It turned out to be a really great combination, and I will for sure make this crumble-top pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added a little more sliced apples to the filling and added 1/3 cup oats to the crumb topping which meant I had to increase the butter in the topping just a touch. Baked at 350*, my pie was done in a little over 60 minutes. I did cover the pie halfway through with foil to keep the pie from burning. Very good pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe was GREAT! My pie plate was a little bigger, so I did add a LOT more apples to the pie (I think it was 6 in total) and I used about a cup of each of the berries. I added the oats, as per other reviewers, but I think it would have worked out either way! Cooked it a bit longer, 45-50 min. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really good -- I modified this recipe only because I had to -- only had certain ingredients on hand. I chopped two granny smith apples, used to 1/2 pints of red raspberries. Did not have any brown sugar on hand, so used 1/4 cup dark maple syrup, two tablespoons of strawberry jam and 1 tablespoon of grenadine (just to see what would happen). I added all of this to the fruit and made sure everything was coated and poured into pie crust. Made the crumble and baked. This was really good but was very tart -- I was afraid of the pie being too sweet because of the maple syrup and the grenadine, but the granny smith's really kept things from being sweet. Next time, will use 1/2 cup maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I doubled the fruit in this recipe to fill the pie plate and added about a 1/2 cup of oatmeat to the topping as suggested. This was a fabulous pie. My family couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States