Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
First time for me making dumplings. Loved them. May try onion and/or garlic powder as suggested in comments but loved them as they are. Didn't overwork them..very fluffy inside. I used cooked chicken that I"d cooked in the crockpot (one breast), an onion, few stalks of celery and 5 or 6 carrots, covered with chicken broth and then some, added salt and pepper, and simmered for an hour or so until making the dumplings---increased heat a bit and cooked for 15 minutes. The broth was thickened by the dumplings and even my husband who is adament that he doesn't like "bready" things in soup liked it. Will definitely be making again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Just like my mom's! Love this recipe as is. Always a hit with whole family, easy, and they come out so fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Doubled the recipe and it was just enough for my family of four. Everyone loved it, and it tasted just like my mom used to make when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This turned out GREAT. Followed as written. All were fluffy, reminds you of food that your grandmother would make!! Another great recipe. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
These turned out wonderfully - fluffy and light. I followed the recipe with the only exception being a little less sugar (I only put in a pinch). Remember to mix only enough to incorporate and leave the lid on.... it makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Really great recipe! My family loved it so much that I had to make another quick batch to add to my soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I used these to round out a very simple vegetable soup since we were nearing the end of our grocery supply. I used two teaspoons to kind of scoop the dough back and forth into a little football and plop it in the pot -- very easy, and it made closer to 12 dumplings for me (each roughly plum-sized once they puffed up) so slightly more than the recipe indicated. Fine by me, because they were a huge hit! My boyfriend kept raving about the soup and it was absolutely the SIMPLEST thing and very filling. The flour in the dumplings kind of made the broth slightly creamy, and I really like that these dumplings can be seasoned differently with various spices and such. I added about 1-2 teaspoons each of olive oil and butter to make up for some margarine (we were out of basically everything) and they are very flavourful that way. Because these don't include egg, they can easily be made vegan with non-dairy milk and either all olive oil or a vegan margarine. So many possibilities! I might try working in some fresh herbs or pesto next time. These are so versatile, I'm definitely adding them to regular rotation for our soups. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Terrific! Light, fluffy and just like Moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I've been using my mom's recipe for years. It contains shortening. I was so happy to find this recipe (which is better than mom's).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Awesome!! Doubled the butter because everyone else said they did, too, not sure if it was necessary. My husband prefers Bisquick dumplings but loved these! He said they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States