Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JulesDiner
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Outstanding! Absolutely outstanding! My darling hubby has been asking for chicken and dumplings for months. With the weather turning a bit cooler, I decided to give this recipe a try. I was not disappointed, and neither was he. These are absolutely delicious. I used butter rather than margarine and I used two tablespoons rather than one. These were light, fluffy and so tender. I followed the recipe and some of the suggestions by other reviewers. Mix only until incorporated, add to simmering (not boiling) liquid and put a lid on it! Leave the pot alone for the full 15 minutes. This is now our family dumpling recipe. Thank you Carol's Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
666 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I made these to go in "Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup" and instead of making large dumplings, I made very small ones as requested by my kids, so that they would be bite sized. The recipe was easy to follow, and the resulting soup was so incredibly good. It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I am traumatized from a childhood of eating Bisquick dumplings. This recipe has healed me! I made a simple chicken soup by boiling the chicken and adding carrots, celery and a few potatoes. The dumplings are so tender, flavorful and comforting, they thickened the soup to a perfect consistancy. My kids love it too! It's a great change from noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Good recipe. One taster said it tasted like a biscuit. The buttermilk dumplings I made at the same time were "voted" better. I've read that melting the butter and adding it with the milk has the same or better result. Just a thought for anyone who wants to try this recipe. Worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I wanted to make the Chicken and Dumplings III, submitted by Melissa, but I didn't have any canned bisquits. Since it was raining I really didn't want to go to the store so I looked up dumplings and found this recipe. I'm so glad I did, I just wish I would of made a double batch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I used cooking oil for the fat. They came out great. The secret my mom taught me to making "dough boys" as we used to call them is to dip your spoon in the liquid between each dumpling so that the batter doesn't stick to the spoon while scooping. The dough slides right off the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These dumpling were yummy! One thing that drew me to try them was there was no egg! I love eggs, but not overpowering the flavor of the dumplings. They were easy to make. The only thing if you are a dumpling lover is make the recipe times three. I only doubled it and still had plenty of broth for more. For my family, chicken and dumpling are just that, nothing else.......no veggies, nothing. This recipe is a keeper for us.Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Great Dumpling recipe! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
It was the first time I have made dumplings. I made them for the Irish chicken and dumplings found here. They were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Food Processor Version: WOW! This is the first time I ever made homemade dumplings, fluffy, delicious and much healthier than ready made biscuit dough. I made them in a food processor IN SECONDS as following! I added the flour, salt, bp, sugar, and the 1 tbsp of dried parsley and pulsed a few seconds. I think butter is much healthier than margarine and followed some reviews and used 2 tablespoons of cold butter, but don't think the extra Tbsp was really necessary. I pulsed until incorporated, then added the cold milk and pulsed just until the dough pulled together as a ball - not more. I gathered the ball, cut up in pieces with knife, dropped them in my simmering brothy soup and watched them puff up delightfully!-make sure you have enough liquid and let simmer. Do not remove lid during the process!. They tasted awesome and we all loved them. The ingredient ratios are spot on- Don't change anything! EXCELLENT dumplings Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States