Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
For the most part I liked this soup. It is a good base soup. I made it as described, except my hubby forgot to buy an onion so I used onion powder in the broth instead. I thought there were two things wrong with it: 1) the broth was awfully bland until I added the onion powder and I added that much earlier than onions would've been added so I think that if I had gone with an actual onion, there wouldn't have been enough onion flavor; and more importantly 2) the dumpling dough had way too much liquid or something. Using exactly the ingredients called for made something the consistency of pancake batter. I added a lot more flour, an extra egg, and a pinch more baking powder and salt to make up for the extra other stuff and I finally got a consistency that would work, though it wasn't ideal. The dumplings were tasty though. As I said before, this is a good base recipe--you could easily add more vegetables like carrots and celery or change out the water for chicken or veggie stock. Despite my rating, I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Even my picky eater loved it. The only change I made was adding half a bag of frozen peas and carrots. Delicious and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ferne Hebig
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Did mine a little different but end result was excellent. I fried my onions and bacon together then added potatoes and cooked longer with some salt, pepper, thyme and smoked applewood seasoning blend. . Added water with chicken and vegetable soup bases. Let potatoes cool about halfway then started plopping in the dumplings. I added about 3/4 - 1 cup more flour than it asked for to make them rollable and made them little bite sized bits of goodness. By the time I was done putting them in the potatoes were finished. Worked great!! Tastes excellent. Will do it again. Maybe try adding these dumplings to other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferne Hebig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as directed and it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The soup if made exactly has no taste and the dumplings needed lots of help. I tried saving this soup by adding in chicken broth, cream of potato and celery soup to get the base creamy and add some flavor. The dumplings need some sage or something to give them some flavor because they are just so bland. It still isn't great but I can at least eat this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This can be great- definitely with modifications. I took the advice from the number one review and added in frozen mixed veggies. I used 2 onions instead of one, and I would definitely use 1.5x or 2x more potatoes next time. After they have boiled put 3/4 of them in the blender and then add back to the pot. Will give it a nice stew texture. I added garlic powder and cracked black peppercorns to my dumpling batter to give them some spice.. Most importantly add THREE chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have never made a dumplin till i tried this recipe. My family loved it and my husband gave me the best compliment ( It taste just like grandmas.) super easy and budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This soup was delicious and very filling. I did make some changes though. I added diced celery and chicken bouillon to make it more flavorful. The only difficulty I had was with the dumplings.....They stuck to everything. Next time I think I will just add more flour. It'a a delicious, easy-to-make soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen's Friend

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was great! Can be a base for a more complex soup or leave as is for a inexpensive very filling meal that make A LOT! I used chicken stock and added chiken and my hubby and I enjoyed! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Oh ya... the family loved this one. It's a keeper. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States