Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was an AWESOME recipe! After finishing one bowl of this my boyfriend almost got down on one knee and proposed - seriously! When I make this recipe I always add frozen veggies just to make me feel a little less guilty about diving in. I also add shredded chicken. When making the dumplings I don't add as much flour as the recipe calls for so that they are a little more moist (the batter will be sticky when adding to soup). A +++!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is an excellent comfort soup. Let the Nebraska blizzard rage on and give me another bowl of soup! Excellent. Here's what I discovered: 1) The soup thickens drastically with the addition of the dumplings, presumably because of the cumulative residue effect of all the flour from the dumplings ... so, one can certainly make this soup last longer by adding more water or chicken stock, 2) I followed the lead of another reviewer in adding chicken stock. Do note that this will make the soup taste saltier, so in using chicken stock, adding salt may not be necessary, 3) Most soup recipes end up with more servings. With all the labor involved, I wish there had been more so it would have lasted longer, 4) I forgot that dumplings increase in size as they cook, so my first dumplings were a little too big, and 5) Rolling the dumplings can be fun, but takes a long time if they are kept small. I'm a soup fanatic, and this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Don't get me wrong, the basic recipe tastes great, but all it needs is some chicken to be perfect. Instead of making the dumplings I just opened up a 10oz can of ready-to-make biscuits, rolled it up into TINY balls (the dumplings swell up a lot after they hit the water) and dropped them in. One bowl and I was stuffed. Will be making again...with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDormChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I LOVED this! The first time I made it I followed receipe to a T and it was fantastic!!! Definetly worth 5 stars. The second time I added a bit of spice to "heat" it up (sprinkle of red pepper flakes to the potatos). I have to add also...why do people change the receipe the first time they make it then give it a low rating? I could understand if you didn't like it as it was was but to change it then rate it low??? You didn't use the recipe...just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My son in law was a bit reluctant to eat this, as he is not a big fan of potato soup. But he liked it so well he went back for seconds and thirds. I did use 1/2 pound of bacon, 3 stalks of celery, and 1 large diced onion. I cooked the bacon and onion together, and boiled the potatoes and celery together. Did not drain off the water but then added chicken broth and one can of evaporated milk and milk in place of water. I put in 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to my dumpling dough. I had some left over smoked keilbasa sausage and diced it up and placed it into the soup as well. This helped out with in the meat eaters in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was great! My husband are it up like crazy. I did make quite a few changes though. Alterations I made: *I used red potatoes *Added about 5 stalks of celery *1 can of Corn *Substituted the 1 teaspoon of salt added with potatoes for 4 teaspoons of chicken bullion seasoning *Added the whole package of bacon While frying up the onion and bacon, I added the celery to that. I cooked all this up until everything was caramelized and very crispy. It's best to make sure that it's crispy otherwise, it will be too limp and soggy when added to the soup. And while the potatoes were boiling, I adding the chicken bullion seasoning. Near the end, I added the corn. It took about an 45 minutes after the soup was done cooking for the soup to get nice and thick and more flavorful. The leftovers were great!! 4 stars because I added more to it to make it just right but overall, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Despite the rather simple ingredient list, I found this to be a very good recipe. Hearty, simple, and inexpensive... an excellent winter dish. I would make the following points and additions, however: -Make sure that the bacon used is high quality and flavorful. I used plain old supermarket bacon, and in retrospect I should have splurged for the specialty stuff. -Substituting broth for water, while unnecessary, will net a fuller-bodied taste in the long run. -The dumpling process took a long time for me; if one likes firm potatoes, I would recommend starting the process of cooking the dumplings 5-7 minutes earlier than instructed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I agree with other users who commented on the dumplings. Yikes! I will definitely be altering the dumplings with my bisquick dumpling recipe next time I make the soup because the dumplings were not what I wanted!! However, the soup part was really delicous, we ended up sifting through the dumplings and just eating the soup. I also added quite a bit more chicken broth to the recipe as other users suggested. Two stars only, since the dumplings failed and since I had to alter the recipe. Good to use as a recipe base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Perfect! I love this soup on a cold or rainy day. It is a good pick-me-up food. I have all the ingredients in my kitchen all the time so it's very convenient to make. Thanks for posting this fabulous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I sure will make it again I did some small changes such as adding chicken stock instead of plain water/some carrots/ dill/come chunks of boil chicken! I think the recipe was simple and a money saver is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States