Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Perfect! I love this soup on a cold or rainy day. It is a good pick-me-up food. I have all the ingredients in my kitchen all the time so it's very convenient to make. Thanks for posting this fabulous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
this is the most simple recipe! very good too. for myself i just used bisquick and their bisket recipe for the dumplings. easyer that way. AND FASTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Great, so quick, easy and tasty. Perfect for cold nights, the husband and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
i scaled this recipe to 12 servings, and my whole family of ten loved it! It makes a lot - we had some extras. Yum! I also made it with ground pork instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Easy, inexpensive, tasty. Made mine with chicken broth instead of soup, veggie sausages cut up instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was an AWESOME recipe! After finishing one bowl of this my boyfriend almost got down on one knee and proposed - seriously! When I make this recipe I always add frozen veggies just to make me feel a little less guilty about diving in. I also add shredded chicken. When making the dumplings I don't add as much flour as the recipe calls for so that they are a little more moist (the batter will be sticky when adding to soup). A +++!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Despite the rather simple ingredient list, I found this to be a very good recipe. Hearty, simple, and inexpensive... an excellent winter dish. I would make the following points and additions, however: -Make sure that the bacon used is high quality and flavorful. I used plain old supermarket bacon, and in retrospect I should have splurged for the specialty stuff. -Substituting broth for water, while unnecessary, will net a fuller-bodied taste in the long run. -The dumpling process took a long time for me; if one likes firm potatoes, I would recommend starting the process of cooking the dumplings 5-7 minutes earlier than instructed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
great recipe! I like a more creamy soup so I pureed the potatoes before adding the dumplings, and my boyfriend loves bacon so I added a few extra pieces but then omitted the grease from the pan to keep it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is an excellent comfort soup. Let the Nebraska blizzard rage on and give me another bowl of soup! Excellent. Here's what I discovered: 1) The soup thickens drastically with the addition of the dumplings, presumably because of the cumulative residue effect of all the flour from the dumplings ... so, one can certainly make this soup last longer by adding more water or chicken stock, 2) I followed the lead of another reviewer in adding chicken stock. Do note that this will make the soup taste saltier, so in using chicken stock, adding salt may not be necessary, 3) Most soup recipes end up with more servings. With all the labor involved, I wish there had been more so it would have lasted longer, 4) I forgot that dumplings increase in size as they cook, so my first dumplings were a little too big, and 5) Rolling the dumplings can be fun, but takes a long time if they are kept small. I'm a soup fanatic, and this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This soup was great. I added chicken and carrots with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States