Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
great recipe! I like a more creamy soup so I pureed the potatoes before adding the dumplings, and my boyfriend loves bacon so I added a few extra pieces but then omitted the grease from the pan to keep it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Despite the rather simple ingredient list, I found this to be a very good recipe. Hearty, simple, and inexpensive... an excellent winter dish. I would make the following points and additions, however: -Make sure that the bacon used is high quality and flavorful. I used plain old supermarket bacon, and in retrospect I should have splurged for the specialty stuff. -Substituting broth for water, while unnecessary, will net a fuller-bodied taste in the long run. -The dumpling process took a long time for me; if one likes firm potatoes, I would recommend starting the process of cooking the dumplings 5-7 minutes earlier than instructed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was an AWESOME recipe! After finishing one bowl of this my boyfriend almost got down on one knee and proposed - seriously! When I make this recipe I always add frozen veggies just to make me feel a little less guilty about diving in. I also add shredded chicken. When making the dumplings I don't add as much flour as the recipe calls for so that they are a little more moist (the batter will be sticky when adding to soup). A +++!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Easy, inexpensive, tasty. Made mine with chicken broth instead of soup, veggie sausages cut up instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
i scaled this recipe to 12 servings, and my whole family of ten loved it! It makes a lot - we had some extras. Yum! I also made it with ground pork instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Great, so quick, easy and tasty. Perfect for cold nights, the husband and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
this is the most simple recipe! very good too. for myself i just used bisquick and their bisket recipe for the dumplings. easyer that way. AND FASTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Perfect! I love this soup on a cold or rainy day. It is a good pick-me-up food. I have all the ingredients in my kitchen all the time so it's very convenient to make. Thanks for posting this fabulous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States