Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
So yummy soup. Thanks for the recipe!!! My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My son in law was a bit reluctant to eat this, as he is not a big fan of potato soup. But he liked it so well he went back for seconds and thirds. I did use 1/2 pound of bacon, 3 stalks of celery, and 1 large diced onion. I cooked the bacon and onion together, and boiled the potatoes and celery together. Did not drain off the water but then added chicken broth and one can of evaporated milk and milk in place of water. I put in 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to my dumpling dough. I had some left over smoked keilbasa sausage and diced it up and placed it into the soup as well. This helped out with in the meat eaters in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
No one in my family liked this at all. Even after scraping up all the browned bits in the bacon pan and adding to the soup, the broth was still very bland. Adding some chicken bullion helped quite a bit and bumped this up from a two star recipe to a three star recipe for me. Even with that addition, we still didn't think much of the soup. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I followed some previous tips, I added frozen veggies (which I loved), my dumplings were too dry and did not expand, so next time I will 1/2 the flour, omit the egg, and subtract 2 cups of water, as my soup was incredibly thin. I will also add the bacon at the table, it would have been much better with the fresh crunchy texture. Lastly, I would season the water, as I found it laking in flavor. Will make again, just needs a little more umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
My husband and I tried this recipe and while it was filling and would be good for a cold day, I think the dumplings AND potatoes were just too much. However I loved the idea of carmelizing the bacon and onions in a skillet, and then adding it to the soup, that is something you could really play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
when i first read the recipe i thought it sounded boring, but after reading the reviews i had to try it. Thank you for this recipe! YUM! a big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made the just dumplings from this recipe to go with vegetable soup, and they were fabulous! The recipe made a lot, they weren't too salty, and it took about 1 minute to make them. I added some basil to the dough, which was a tasty addition. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This soup was great. I added chicken and carrots with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is an excellent comfort soup. Let the Nebraska blizzard rage on and give me another bowl of soup! Excellent. Here's what I discovered: 1) The soup thickens drastically with the addition of the dumplings, presumably because of the cumulative residue effect of all the flour from the dumplings ... so, one can certainly make this soup last longer by adding more water or chicken stock, 2) I followed the lead of another reviewer in adding chicken stock. Do note that this will make the soup taste saltier, so in using chicken stock, adding salt may not be necessary, 3) Most soup recipes end up with more servings. With all the labor involved, I wish there had been more so it would have lasted longer, 4) I forgot that dumplings increase in size as they cook, so my first dumplings were a little too big, and 5) Rolling the dumplings can be fun, but takes a long time if they are kept small. I'm a soup fanatic, and this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
great recipe! I like a more creamy soup so I pureed the potatoes before adding the dumplings, and my boyfriend loves bacon so I added a few extra pieces but then omitted the grease from the pan to keep it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States