Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I was a little disappointed after having read so many raving reviews. It was good, but not amazing. The broth was a little runnier than I would have liked (perhaps cutting the water by a cup or two may help)? Also, I would recommend cooking the bacon till it's really crispy, like bacon bits, for texture reasons. I gotta say it was pretty good considering how quick it was to make, but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Mmmmmm this is yummy! I did forget to add the bacon though and I added some chicken broth and it is very tasty. Not much needed in this soup, maybe some chicken or even bacon hehe. I will definatly make this again and might try pureeing the potatoes before adding the dumplings. Just to give those who've never made dumplings before, I dropped these by marble size and they came out about the size of a quarter. Oh when I made the dumplings I used 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour just to make it a little healthier. I may add some carrots next time also. I'm sitting here eating this soup as I am writing this review and I started with chunks of potatoes which was good but wanted to see what it would be like if I would puree it so I mushed the potatoes and it is even better, the dumpling doesn't have to fight with the potato to fit in the spoon. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Don't get me wrong, the basic recipe tastes great, but all it needs is some chicken to be perfect. Instead of making the dumplings I just opened up a 10oz can of ready-to-make biscuits, rolled it up into TINY balls (the dumplings swell up a lot after they hit the water) and dropped them in. One bowl and I was stuffed. Will be making again...with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDormChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
So yummy soup. Thanks for the recipe!!! My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My son in law was a bit reluctant to eat this, as he is not a big fan of potato soup. But he liked it so well he went back for seconds and thirds. I did use 1/2 pound of bacon, 3 stalks of celery, and 1 large diced onion. I cooked the bacon and onion together, and boiled the potatoes and celery together. Did not drain off the water but then added chicken broth and one can of evaporated milk and milk in place of water. I put in 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to my dumpling dough. I had some left over smoked keilbasa sausage and diced it up and placed it into the soup as well. This helped out with in the meat eaters in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
No one in my family liked this at all. Even after scraping up all the browned bits in the bacon pan and adding to the soup, the broth was still very bland. Adding some chicken bullion helped quite a bit and bumped this up from a two star recipe to a three star recipe for me. Even with that addition, we still didn't think much of the soup. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I followed some previous tips, I added frozen veggies (which I loved), my dumplings were too dry and did not expand, so next time I will 1/2 the flour, omit the egg, and subtract 2 cups of water, as my soup was incredibly thin. I will also add the bacon at the table, it would have been much better with the fresh crunchy texture. Lastly, I would season the water, as I found it laking in flavor. Will make again, just needs a little more umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
My husband and I tried this recipe and while it was filling and would be good for a cold day, I think the dumplings AND potatoes were just too much. However I loved the idea of carmelizing the bacon and onions in a skillet, and then adding it to the soup, that is something you could really play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
when i first read the recipe i thought it sounded boring, but after reading the reviews i had to try it. Thank you for this recipe! YUM! a big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made the just dumplings from this recipe to go with vegetable soup, and they were fabulous! The recipe made a lot, they weren't too salty, and it took about 1 minute to make them. I added some basil to the dough, which was a tasty addition. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States