Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Easy, inexpensive, tasty. Made mine with chicken broth instead of soup, veggie sausages cut up instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very yummy, but it took longer than expected. And you should use chicken stock, or bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was great! My husband are it up like crazy. I did make quite a few changes though. Alterations I made: *I used red potatoes *Added about 5 stalks of celery *1 can of Corn *Substituted the 1 teaspoon of salt added with potatoes for 4 teaspoons of chicken bullion seasoning *Added the whole package of bacon While frying up the onion and bacon, I added the celery to that. I cooked all this up until everything was caramelized and very crispy. It's best to make sure that it's crispy otherwise, it will be too limp and soggy when added to the soup. And while the potatoes were boiling, I adding the chicken bullion seasoning. Near the end, I added the corn. It took about an 45 minutes after the soup was done cooking for the soup to get nice and thick and more flavorful. The leftovers were great!! 4 stars because I added more to it to make it just right but overall, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very good!!! We loved it. I used chicken and also added a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I agree with other users who commented on the dumplings. Yikes! I will definitely be altering the dumplings with my bisquick dumpling recipe next time I make the soup because the dumplings were not what I wanted!! However, the soup part was really delicous, we ended up sifting through the dumplings and just eating the soup. I also added quite a bit more chicken broth to the recipe as other users suggested. Two stars only, since the dumplings failed and since I had to alter the recipe. Good to use as a recipe base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very tasty, and a great quick and easy meal. It took me right back to my grandma table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I don't even like dumplings but I liked these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I was a little disappointed after having read so many raving reviews. It was good, but not amazing. The broth was a little runnier than I would have liked (perhaps cutting the water by a cup or two may help)? Also, I would recommend cooking the bacon till it's really crispy, like bacon bits, for texture reasons. I gotta say it was pretty good considering how quick it was to make, but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Mmmmmm this is yummy! I did forget to add the bacon though and I added some chicken broth and it is very tasty. Not much needed in this soup, maybe some chicken or even bacon hehe. I will definatly make this again and might try pureeing the potatoes before adding the dumplings. Just to give those who've never made dumplings before, I dropped these by marble size and they came out about the size of a quarter. Oh when I made the dumplings I used 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour just to make it a little healthier. I may add some carrots next time also. I'm sitting here eating this soup as I am writing this review and I started with chunks of potatoes which was good but wanted to see what it would be like if I would puree it so I mushed the potatoes and it is even better, the dumpling doesn't have to fight with the potato to fit in the spoon. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Don't get me wrong, the basic recipe tastes great, but all it needs is some chicken to be perfect. Instead of making the dumplings I just opened up a 10oz can of ready-to-make biscuits, rolled it up into TINY balls (the dumplings swell up a lot after they hit the water) and dropped them in. One bowl and I was stuffed. Will be making again...with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDormChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States