Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Good, simple soup. Recipe is easy to follow. I added much more bacon to mine, and had to add some spices. Next time I may put some veggies in, and there will definitly be a next time that I make this soup, with my own variatons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I hesitated to try this since potatoes and dumplings do not seem like any combination I would care for, but the review of the boyfriend practically proposing and having ingredients that fit with this, I decided to give it a go. I did not care for it. Was to rich and actually felt ill eating the potato dumpling combo. But my husband ate 3 bowls and the kids raved, so maybe it's just my own constitution? Because of them I will make it again and just endure. I would have gave this 2 stars at the most, but gave it 4 since it was 4 against one at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My family loves this! It's best if you use all of the onion (like the recipes says) and if they get a little dark (I burnt mine) while cooking with the bacon, it just adds flavor. It's better to have the onions over cooked than under cooked. My mom made it again after the first time. Don't add much extra water. It doesn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
very good base recipe...used bisquick for the dumplings, because it took less time... added cheddar cheese to the mix. Added the bacon to the soup before the dumplings. Used Chicken broth instead of water and added an additional cup of water...eliminated the salt. Added 4 stalks of celery, finely chopped to the broth with the potatoes. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This soup was phenomenal! My roommate and I had a soup day at work and needless to say this was gone before noon! I used a few other suggestions and subbed chicken broth for the water, and added one large roasted chicken breast (chopped). We also added more bacon, about 10 oz, which we cooked on a sheet pan in the oven to get crispy prior to chopping and stirring into the onions. Since it was for work, we added 3 more Russet potatoes and a bit more broth..keeping the same amount dumplings. It was great, I will definitely be making this again. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjohnsfrommtown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This soup was fabulous! My husband loved it! I did change a few things, I used smoked sausage (because I didn’t have any bacon) I used chicken broth and added some water, and this had given it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These dumplings don't cut it. the soup itself is good but the dumplings were kind of tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was a good recipe, it was kind of rich for my taste but my Hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCostello

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Really good, but you don't have to add so much flour to the dough. I added thyme and would have added parsley if I had it. Would be good with sausage or chicken which I'll try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I'm sure this came out the way it was suppose to but my family did not like it. I gave it 3 starts because if this is the type of soup you like it's OK and the dumplins were fabulous. Next time I'll make chicken instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States