Dumpling Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I thought this soup was very good and simple. I had all the ingredients on hand which was nice. My dumplings turned out really hard, but it seemed I had to add alot more flour to make them less sticky. Didn't use all the dumpling dough either. Developed great flavor. I also added 2 chicken bouillion cubes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Added 4 stalks of celery, used chicken bacon and add ham flavored soup base to the water. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great Soup - Loved the Dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
The base recipe was pretty good. I didn't like how watery the broth was so I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and a half of a stick of butter. And I added a 3oz jar of real bacon bits instead of cooking bacon (being lazy). The result was creamy and delicious! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarsii
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I agree with Texanchef, it's better if the dumpling dough is sticky. It makes the dumplings lighter and moister, kind of like a spaetzle. This soup reminds me of the German potato dumpling soup my grandma used to make. The key to a really good soup is salt and pepper. If you have fresh cracked pepper it's even better. I made this for Christmas Eve. I put some cheddar cheese and green onions out for garnish. My family really raved about it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Cervene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I liked that the dumplings were more an old fashioned style, denser than say a Bisquick variety. I will use that recipe again, thank you. The soup though was as some others said, bland and heavy. If you like old timey simple blander recipes, this may be for you. For us though, I will find a better soup recipe with more flavor and use this dumpling recipe in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Small_Fry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I was pretty impressed on this soup. It just sounded good when i read it. I followed to the T except added a can of cream corn. WOW. Great flavor and a nice warm comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOBEECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This similar to my recipe for potato dumpling soup, only I skip the bacon. I thin with milk or cream instead of water. And I slightly thin my dumpling mix a bit and pour them out of a cup with a spoon pushing into the boiling soup creating smaller dumplings that you eat with each bite. I also add carrots and celery finely cut for color. Garnish with parsly. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I LOVED this! The first time I made it I followed receipe to a T and it was fantastic!!! Definetly worth 5 stars. The second time I added a bit of spice to "heat" it up (sprinkle of red pepper flakes to the potatos). I have to add also...why do people change the receipe the first time they make it then give it a low rating? I could understand if you didn't like it as it was was but to change it then rate it low??? You didn't use the recipe...just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The dumplings are amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States