Dump Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
this is a WONDERFUL and easy dessert! Definitely more like a cobbler, so it needs to be served with vanilla ice cream! If you sprinkle the coconut and nuts under the cake mix (as one other reviewer suggested), it eliminates the burning and elminates the need of having to remember to add the coconut towards the end of baking. A good variation on this is to use apple pie filling and a spice cake mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Delicious & easy! I used only 1/2 cup of melted butter & 1/2 cup of the drained pineapple juice so it wouldn't have so much fat from the butter. I used light cherry pie filling too. Made mine with the coconut & pecans under the cake layer so they wouldn't burn (thanks to the reviewer that added that line a while ago!). Turned out quite tasty & served warm from the oven with vanilla fat-free frozen yogurt. Reheated well too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Great recipe! Also made it with blueberry pie filling in place of the cherries and strawberry pie filling minus the pineapple. So easy and yummy. I also make it the night before so it has time to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDENICOL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I tripled the recipe and brought it to work for a co-worker's birthday. We served it topped with vanilla ice cream. It was a big success, and I've even had a request for the recipe (I would have probably had more, except that 99% of my co-workers are men - they like to eat goodies, not make them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I love dump cake--but I use a can of tart pie cherries instead of the cherry pie filling. It gets rid of that artificial pre-made pie-filling taste, and cuts down on the sweetness. It's still *plenty* sweet, don't worry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I substituted devil's food cake mix for the yellow and distributed the melted butter evenly with a spatula. I omitted nuts and coconut. The top came out like brownies. The dessert was delicious with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I had this at a barbeque this summer and loved it! I use tart cherry filling instead of pie filling (so much better) and I used PINEAPPLE cake mix instead of yellow! It gives it more flavor!!! Used pecans instead of walnuts and doubled the nuts. Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Quick, easy, and quite a hit! I used pecans instead of walnuts. Ice cream with this cake is a MUST! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
This is very easy and very good. I did not put the coconut and nuts in it because we do not like them. Everyone loved this! I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Left out the coconut and walnuts, and used butter instead of margarine. Instead of melting the butter, I just thinly slice it and cover the the top of the cake mix. I also tried someone's recommendation to reduce the butter by half and add juice as a substitute. While it may cut down on the calories, it doesn't turn out nearly as good. The topping doesn't get very crunchy. Some recipes can be reduced fat, this is not one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States