Dump Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made this as a birthday cake for a work buddy and it was a huge hit in the office! Followed the recipe exactly, just left out the nuts... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was easy and delicious! My husband and I both loved it. I did as one reviewer suggested and added the coconut and nuts prior to topping with the cake mix and butter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanishQT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
My mom used to make this all the time. The only thing different was we used Betty Crocker yellow cake mix with the pudding in the mix, and combined the cake mix with the cup of melted butter then crumbled the mixture over the cherry pineapple mix. Ive never used the coconut or nuts, but im not a fan of coconut. Delicious and easy dessert recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Once again I was looking for a simple dessert. Something to make with ingredients I had on hand. I came across this recipe and decided to try it. It was very easy and it hit the spot. The only change I made was to use chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This cake is so simple and a great summer sweet treat! I passed on the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
There are many versions of dump cake. Other recipes call for only a 1/2 cup of butter/margarine instead of the full cup. I have made it both ways and I think that the crust is firmer and crisper with a whole cup of butter/margarine. Many recipes call for the butter/margarine to be cut up on the top of the cake mix. I have melted the butter and I have patted it on and I can't tell the difference. So now I just melt the butter because it is easier. I do make one major substitution. I switched to white cake mix. I don't know what is put in cake mix to make it yellow but to me it gives the final product a little bit of a cotton candy taste which is still amazingly good don't get me wrong. I just prefer the lighter taste of the white mix. A classic upside down cake uses white cake, and Dump Cake is like a Right Side Up / Upside Down cake as strange as that sounds. It is rich and to quote Steel Magnolia's, "I serve it with ice cream to cut the sweetness."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a delicious, simple dessert. My 13 year old twins love to eat it as well as make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
One of our fav's! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made the cake mostly as directed. I omitted the coconut, and put the nuts between the pineapple and cake mix. After 50 minutes I took the pan out of the oven because the edges were a little dark brown and I wanted to avoid burnt spots. After letting it sit a few minutes to cool, we tasted the dessert. It was great! I love quick and easy recipes - you don't even need a mixing bowl for this. I plan to try some of the variations that others have suggested, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Gret recipe. After reading the reviews the only the I changed was the butter. I did not melt it instead I cut it into thin slices and put it on top. The crust turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States