Dump Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
i messed up i put my cake mix in first owell i guess i see how it turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Wilson Bowen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandim7
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My grandmother has been making this recipe for years. It's easy and fantastic. I did what the recipe called for except today I didn't have and crushed pineapple so I drained some cut pineapple and diced it up instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I found a recipe similar to this in a cookbook titled, "Texas Celebrity Cookbook," by Russell Gardner and Chris Farkas. The recipe came from Congressman Bill Archer of Texas. The only differences in Rep. Archer's recipe are: Omit the coconut, and the last step is 2 sticks of butter, sliced into pats and dotted over the top of the cake before baking. I have made the cake several times, and it always turns out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winamoe

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My family LOVED this even though I didn't make it exactly right. (I didn't read the reviews first! ) I told them you'll like it even more next time. And have it with vanilla ice cream, OMG! I dumped crushed pineapple in a greased 9x13 and spread it evenly then cherry pie filling then cake mix. Patted it down and put butter squares on top. Next time more butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This turned out great. I did use a few of the suggestions by using white cake mix and additional nuts and coconut. I layered nuts and coconut over the pie filling and then in the last 10 minutes of baking layered more on topo. It was a hit a work. I served it with whipped cream. NOTE- My cake only took 45 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So good and so easy. Doesn't get much better than that for this Texan. Altho, not for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Yummy!! So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe before to the letter, and it's wonderful. I use butter pats on top, not melted butter. Tonight, because one of my guests said she doesn't like overly-sweet desserts, I made it with 1.5 cans of drained tart cherries instead of pie filling. It was still really good and they LOVED it. I did find that the top of it was on the salty side, though. I served it with vanilla ice cream, which was PERFECT. Next time I am going to experiment and mix tart cherries with the sweet, gooey pie filling. Then, I think I'll alternate pats of butter, one stick unsalted, the other stick salted. I'll let you know how it goes. THANK YOU FOR THE AWESOME RECIPE! Oh, and I did leave the coconut out because I am not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mitchell Tchobanian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I give this recipe 5 starts but ONLY with the following substitution-use a can of sliced peaches in syrup instead of the cherries. It goes MUCH better with the coconut and pineapple. Also, make sure you drain the pineapple well, as you'll be using the syrup from the peaches for moisture. My mother used to make this all the time when I was a kid and I loved it! Definitely a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjoca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States