Dump Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I've made this several times. I use a 20oz can of crushed pineapple - mostly undrained and only 1 1/2 sticks of butter. I melt the butter and pour it over the top of the cake as suggested by other reviewers. I also bake in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was delicious. I melted the butter as others have suggested and added pecans at the end. Served warm with vanilla ice cream. Will certainly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Made with a 15-oz can of mandarin oranges since I didn't have crushed pineapple on hand, and baked in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I really enjoyed this. Made it exactly how the instructions indicated. Once it was pulled from the oven, there were spots that were dry. I melted a little bit of butter and poured it over those spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney Noble

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is the first time I've ever made a dump cake, only heard about them last week. I read through all the recipes on here and the reviews. What I learned was to add instant vanilla pudding to the cake mix and grate the butter over the top. I forgot to add walnuts and coconut in the last ten minutes and I had to cook it longer than the directions said. About 10-15 minutes more. I still had some dry cake mix in parts but over all it was pretty good and I don't like cherries! It was also a bit sweet for my taste but the boyfriend loved it and so did his daughter so I'll probably make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Such a simple but very good cake to make. I mix the cake mix with the melted butter and then spread that (carefully) on top of the pie filling and pineapple. That way you don't get any dry spots of cake mix. Served warm, served cold, it's good no matter how you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
this is delicious, i always add 1 tsp of almond extract to my cherries & pineapples and only use 1 stick of butter, i just spray the dry spots with butter flavored cooking spray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANA1T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My Grandma made dump cake just like this....I cook it in a 9x13 glass dish and cook it on 350...Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe to a tee, except I used about a third less of the butter. It still came out very moist. I also used a 9x13 glass dish and it baked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I actually gave this five stars. I didn't have any cherry pie filling so I used a can of crushed pineapples, coconut, and bananas, with chocolate cake. I had butter in the freezer, so I grated it over the cake mix. DELICIOUS. My kids loved at, as well as my hubby. I didn't use a bundt pan, I used a 9X13 pan, and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again and again, with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANIENEE

Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States