Dump Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I didn't have any apple pie filling, so subbed peach pie filling instead. Cake is very moist & very good! I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site. Thought the recipe for frosting from this recipe looked like it would turn out way too sweet. Took to work & had nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was very rich and yummy. I didn't use 2 cans of pie filling like some suggested because I didn't have any. But I did add 1/3 oil to help with the moistness. I know there was already a whole stick of butter in there, but I did it anyway and I was glad I did. It turned out very moist and flavorful. I also upped the cinnamon a little because I really like to taste it. Also, for the icing I was craving the Caramel Frosting IV from this website and it turned out so rich and delicious. I'm sure the other icing is great too...I will use that kind next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I totally forgot to add the butter, and it was still AMAZING! I used home canned apple pie filling- an entire quart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Super yummy! Not too sweet, the cake was moist and delicious. I did not have the ingredients for the frosting, so served it with cool whip instead. I also did not have walnuts - substituted with sliced almonds, which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This recipe is a keeper...left out nuts, and added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the frosting...also baked for 40 min. and frosted warm, family was here and ate it warm, not one person didn't love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Log Lane Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very easy and very moist! Did recipe exactly as listed and it turned out great. Didn't do frosting (my family doesn't like frosting), instead just put some whipped topping on top. Really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
yep, this is a keeper. didnt have walnuts so used pecans. thats the only change i made. very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly. my family liked this, my 4 yr old made it by himself... i thought it was ok but not fantastic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
5 stars for super easy and yummy. I used veg oil instead of butter, and lite cherry pie filling. My family is weird and does not like cream cheese frosting, so I made vanilla glaze which was good, but not as good as the cream cheese frosting would have been!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I never use apple pie filling so I substituted 4 medium diced apples. I put the frosting on, but found I like it better without. It just seemed too sweet. The frosting is awesome and I'll definitely use it on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States