Dump Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This cake turned out perfect. The only thing I changed was I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oleo. It is moist and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe N Peggysue Pardike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't use the icing because I was serving the cake at a brunch function and it didn't seem necessary. It was moist and the hit of the event. I will definitely make it again! About three people wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is an actual dump cake. It doesn't matter the order of ingredients- just beat it all together! Thank you for the recipe. I top it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr.mena
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I just did it ..delicious..good taste to share with friends at afternoon tea with deserts. Like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Good cake, but not really a "Dump" cake. 'Dumping' the ingredients into a bowl and mixing, is the way I make all my cakes... unless they are a "Dump" cake. Dump cakes generally involve putting a one or two things like fruit, nuts or chocolate in the bottom of a pan, pouring or "Dumping" a commercial cake mix on top of the 1st ingredients and baking. I gave it a 3 star rating because it really isn't a Dump cake, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Delicious as it is. I didn't change a thing except that I reduced the bake time because it appeared to be baking a bit too quickly when baked in a glass dish. I must admit that I was concerned about the amount of sugar, but when it was baked it didn't taste overly sweet. This is one of the best recipes in my collection now, and I've been baking for over 40 years. Oh, and one other thing---this cake tastes so good and was so well loved by my family that I had to give it another name. It's just too special to call a Dump Cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy Peasy. Didn't change the cake recipe at all and it turned out great. Very moist, and much like a spice cake. I look forward to trying it out with other pie fillings. I didn't make the icing - I just lightly sprinkled it with powdered sugar. The family loved it. I may try a brown sugar crumble topping next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Excellent and different, definitely a keeper! Texture is something between a banana bread and a cake, with a subtle apple pie flavor. I made it as directed, with just one can of pie filling and a touch more cream cheese in the frosting, and baked in a 9 x 13 pan. It was slightly overdone at the edges at 1 hour, so next time I'll try 55 mins. I may try more cinnamon and 2 cans of filling to see the difference, but it was awesome as written. Tasted great cold from the fridge the next day or with coffee, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I was looking to make a dessert that would satisfy my craving for sweet but only use ingredients I had on hand. This worked perfectly. I didn't have the frosting ingredients so I sprinkled it with powdered sugar- mmmmmm.... it was just right! I especially loved that it wasn't too sweet or rich. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was excellent!! Very simple and super yummy. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States