Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I haven't baked in years but I decided to start with this - and everyone loved it! Instead of cake mix, I used the other reviewers cake-from-scratch.. should have doubled the amount though as there wasn't enough mix to cover all the fruits (I used canned apricots & pineapples that came in syrup). - 1/4 cup sugar - 1 cup flour - 1 tsp baking powder - 1/4 tsp salt - 1 cup of syrup from the pineapples Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
wow - so good. I wish I had known about this cake years ago. It's really more of a fruit compote kind of thing, or a fruit crumble, like apple crisp, than a cake (fine with me!) It's ridiculously easy to make. I buttered the bottom of the pan, and added that little big of teensily chopped walnuts in the last 10 mins of baking. I was in heaven. This will be the new thing to bring to gatherings. My 22 month old daughter is eating it now making all sorts of groaning noises and saying "delicious" over and over again. Take it from the expert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I really love this recipe, excepted I used blueberry pie filling and crushed pineapple instead of cherry. Everybody I've served it to just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
A friend introduced me to this sinfully delicious treat and so when I was browsing on Allrecipes.com and saw this recipe I new I had to try it. It was fabulous! That's all I have to say about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Made this 3 times to get it just right! The first time, I used apple pie filling, but it was a bit sweet for my taste. Any type of canned fruit will do - I tried fruit cocktail and canned peaches (anything in fruit juice rather than syrup). You can try strawberries in syrup if you like a sweeter dessert. I finally decided to make the cake mix from scratch (3/4 cup sugar, 1 cup flour, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp salt) (this is actually the dry ingredients of 1/2 of David's yellow cake from this website). I drizzled some of the pineapple juice from the canned pineapples into the mixture and baked according to the recipe. (I omitted the butter and used a spray olive oil to save fat!) Tastes fantastic with chopped walnuts on top and served with vanilla ice cream! A nice, healthy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is the best cake, it takes no time to make and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Easy and yummy. Great when served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
One cookie and cake disaster after another, I had just about given up! Then I saw the title for this recipe "Super-Easy-To-Make" and it was. I tweaked the original recipe according to some of the other readers only using 1/2 the cake mix and slightly more than 1/2 the filling, it turned out wonderful. RA! RA! Also, i used the remaining cake mix to experiment using a muffin pan. Thanks for the recipe as well as the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alykar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This is the perfect recipe for a dump cake. But you can use any kind of fruit and try topping the cake with chopped pecans or walnut. It is really good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe to the tee and it never set up. It was quite liquidy when it came out of the oven, so I scooped it over some vanilla ice cream and received RAVE reviews! The flavor was amazing! I think next time I'll use less fruit, or maybe different fruit, and see where that gets me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States