Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I've made this dump cake for years - the only thing I'll bake. It's my family's fave and sooooo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I love, love, love this recipe!! It is sooo easy and sooo yummy! Add a little cool whip to the top if you want or eat it plain and either way, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Something that I like to do with dump cakes is to add about a 1/4 cup of sugar on top of the pie fillings, also I use a White cake opposed to Yellow(not as swwet). Adding walnuts is also a great idea to keep people coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is the easiest dessert ever! I always make this for my husband except with peaches. He loves it with ice cream. It gets a little too sweet for me if I have too much, but it's very good. I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this cake one day just because it looked easy and interesting, my son loved it. I have been making it as his "birthday cake" every year since then, sometimes changing the fruit filling. He LOVES it, even has his girlfriend asking me for it now...incredibly easy. Very "cobbler" like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
You want it to come out rich? Sweet? Mild? Blah? The difference is in the ingredients. I have been making this for years and have found a great difference in the taste. Cherry pie fillings come in different types... (Use a good brand like Comstock)Sweet cherries, tart cherries, dark red cherries... the regular cherries don't have enough bang. And if a cheap brand of pineapple packed with water is used at the same time, the whole thing will come out blah! Sweet cherries and syrup packed pineapple will make it very sweet and will need to be served in small pieces with whipped cream or icecream to make it enjoyable. Sweet cheries can be offset by the wateer packed pineapple and make it mildly sweet. So you can work around what you have. Cheap cake mix, tastes like cheap cake mix. This works better with a rich major brand mix. If that is all you have, mix a teaspoon of Vanilla to the pineapple, and take a 1/4 cup of the cakemix out before sprinkling it on top. This gives you a higher fruit to cake ratio, but it will turn out better. For a denser cake, try a good brand of brownie mix. The chocolate and cherrirs are a great match! I spread the pineapple on the bottom and sprinkle the cherries on top of that. Also, I sprinkle the chopped walnuts on top of the cake mix before adding the slices butter. Do yourself a favor and use butter, not marjarine or 'spread'. Your top will be slightly crusty, browned and the whole thing will be rich and satisfying. Bake it wil love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a good cake, it's not too sweet, but just enough with a glass of wine. Tip: 1/2 cup of butter is not enough. I did 1 cup of butter and that was perfect, I also added coccanut to the top the last 5 minutes, this made it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was pretty good- different. I had never had this before even though I know it's an old recipe. I used pineapple and the cherry pie filling and it countered the sweetness of the cake..it satisfies a sweet tooth for sure and it's super easy. Not something I would take to a potluck though- not fancy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Perfection. So simple and easy and cheap- but not lacking any flavor. One of my favorite desserts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I love pineapple upside down cake so I put in one can (20 oz minus about 3 T juice) of crushed pineapple (unsweetened) and sprinkled brown sugar over it. I didn't put anymore filling with it. Sprinkled the cake mix over it along with chopped walnuts and butter and baked 55 minutes. I tried grating the butter and it does work. Next time I'll put the butter in the freezer for a while so it is firmer and not so messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States