Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Gets a lot of compliments at family gatherings but can get very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
this cake is so easy and delicious, I melt the butter in 3/4 cups hot water and drizzle over cake before baking and then make crumbs of flour, sugar and butter and put that on prior to baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made it with chocolate cake mix and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made this last night and it came out SOOO good. Except I think I put the ingredients in the wrong order so there is a bunch of baked, cake batter at the bottom that is all crumbly. But it's so good. I think it is fine scooped into a bowl. I will definitely make this again. It reminds me of my great grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I love this quick and easy dessert. I make it with blueberry pie filling instead of the cherry, and the combination of fruits is incredible. Everyone will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Didn't change a thing. One of my family's favorites! Might try a cheesecake mix with the cherries next time, or other varieties. Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Just made this for the first time for a potluck today - people REALLY loved it! It's a keeper. The changes I made were 1. Melted the butter and mixed it with the cake mix 2. It was still hard to mix the cake mix/butter mixture, so I added all the liquid from the cherries, and added that, then spooned that on top of the canned fruit. Seems like melting the butter and mixing it in is actually much easier than slicing it carefully and placing it on the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is the dessert I always make when I don't have time to make dessert! So easy and so delicious. It always gets rave reviews and people can't believe it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and loved it. The next time I made it, I accidentlally bought TART pitted cherries. It was fantastic! The tartness of the cherries balanced the sweetness of the pineapple really well. I now make this dessert regularly - it is a big hit at my church. I found that I like using 3 cans of the cherries. Another trick I have found is to freeze a stick of butter and then use a grater to shred it on the top of the mix. I like the results of shredding better than cutting pats or melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I made this using 2 cans of fruit cocktail. I also added almonds and coconut to the top, which really added an extra kick. I used 1 cup melted butter on top, but that made it too salty, so I would stick to 1/2 cup butter next time. Overall, very easy and delicious, good with coffee or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States