Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
You want it to come out rich? Sweet? Mild? Blah? The difference is in the ingredients. I have been making this for years and have found a great difference in the taste. Cherry pie fillings come in different types... (Use a good brand like Comstock)Sweet cherries, tart cherries, dark red cherries... the regular cherries don't have enough bang. And if a cheap brand of pineapple packed with water is used at the same time, the whole thing will come out blah! Sweet cherries and syrup packed pineapple will make it very sweet and will need to be served in small pieces with whipped cream or icecream to make it enjoyable. Sweet cheries can be offset by the wateer packed pineapple and make it mildly sweet. So you can work around what you have. Cheap cake mix, tastes like cheap cake mix. This works better with a rich major brand mix. If that is all you have, mix a teaspoon of Vanilla to the pineapple, and take a 1/4 cup of the cakemix out before sprinkling it on top. This gives you a higher fruit to cake ratio, but it will turn out better. For a denser cake, try a good brand of brownie mix. The chocolate and cherrirs are a great match! I spread the pineapple on the bottom and sprinkle the cherries on top of that. Also, I sprinkle the chopped walnuts on top of the cake mix before adding the slices butter. Do yourself a favor and use butter, not marjarine or 'spread'. Your top will be slightly crusty, browned and the whole thing will be rich and satisfying. Bake it wil love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystalkay
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
A couple of tips to make this cake even better: 1. Melt the butter before pouring it on top of the dry cake mix. 2. During the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle chopped walnuts and shredded coconut on top. This cake is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is similar to a family recipe I have been making for years...only my recipe calls for 1/2 box of yellow cake mix and I think the ratio of cake to fruit is better that way. I have made it with both cherry pie filling and plain pitted cherries, and I think my favorite is using *light* cherry pie filling. It's not quite as sweet as regular, but it still thickens up the filling, as opposed to plain cherries which can be a little watery. It is absolutely wonderful with 1/2 cup chopped walnuts stirred into the fruit. This ingredient should be mandatory as it adds texture and crunch. Everybody always loves dump cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Just thought I would say that this is a fantastic recipe and that I have been making another version of :dump cake" since I was a kid. 1 package white cake mix, 2 cans pie filling (whatever you like) and 1/2 stick butter or margarine. blend cake mix and butter till like peas, place pie filling into a greased pan, top with cake and butter mix and bake for 40 minutes at 350. Makes more of a crisp than a cake, but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I make a variation of this... I use cherry pie filling instead of the pitted cherries, and I use vanilla or white cake mix. Also, I sometimes make it with blueberry pie filling and canned peaches mixed together, or apple pie filling with canned pear slices. All are scrumptious, and your dessert is made SO QUICKLY! I keep these ingredients on hand for those just-in-case moments. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I have made this for years and it is 2 of my kids (now 19 & 28) favorite for their birthdays!I always add coconut and layer it WITHOUT stirring at all. Cherries, undrained piineapple, cake mix, melted butter, nuts and coconut. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I love this quick and easy dessert. I make it with blueberry pie filling instead of the cherry, and the combination of fruits is incredible. Everyone will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a good cake, it's not too sweet, but just enough with a glass of wine. Tip: 1/2 cup of butter is not enough. I did 1 cup of butter and that was perfect, I also added coccanut to the top the last 5 minutes, this made it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I really love this recipe, excepted I used blueberry pie filling and crushed pineapple instead of cherry. Everybody I've served it to just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this recipe lacked everything. It was simple to make however it was worse than something you buy in a box and put together. I'm sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States