Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Easy and incredible. It's even delicious enough to serve to company, but you don't have to spend hours baking! I don't care for cherries, so I use apple pie filling. Everyone wants this recipe. My sister gave it to me and I'm glad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I used this for a first birthday party cake. We used cherry pie filling and I think that made it even better. I also melted the butter, but I could see that lots of thin pats would do the same. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This cake was soooo good. My husband who does not care for cherries thought it was good. I will definately make again, but try apples or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
A couple of tips to make this cake even better: 1. Melt the butter before pouring it on top of the dry cake mix. 2. During the last 10 minutes of baking, sprinkle chopped walnuts and shredded coconut on top. This cake is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This cake is super cheap and super easy to make. My 3 year old and I had a fun time making it and we both loved the outcome!! I got creative and instead of using cherries, I used peaches and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
My 4 year old daughter and I enjoyed making this cake together because it's so easy. We used cherry pie filling, pineapple chunks (I was out of crushed) and added walnuts on top. We served it with whipped topping. My daughter even ate a bit of the finished product (which is rare since she doesn't like to try new things) My teenagers just about licked their bowls clean, so I'd say it was a hit with them. Personally, I found it to be a bit too sweet, but I still enjoyed it. I think next time, for me, I'll just have a little spoonful of the cake with some vanilla ice cream. I would definitely make this again - I know my kids will ask for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
you can also add chopped walnuts to the top before baking and it just adds a little extra to the already wonderful taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is similar to a family recipe I have been making for years...only my recipe calls for 1/2 box of yellow cake mix and I think the ratio of cake to fruit is better that way. I have made it with both cherry pie filling and plain pitted cherries, and I think my favorite is using *light* cherry pie filling. It's not quite as sweet as regular, but it still thickens up the filling, as opposed to plain cherries which can be a little watery. It is absolutely wonderful with 1/2 cup chopped walnuts stirred into the fruit. This ingredient should be mandatory as it adds texture and crunch. Everybody always loves dump cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Just thought I would say that this is a fantastic recipe and that I have been making another version of :dump cake" since I was a kid. 1 package white cake mix, 2 cans pie filling (whatever you like) and 1/2 stick butter or margarine. blend cake mix and butter till like peas, place pie filling into a greased pan, top with cake and butter mix and bake for 40 minutes at 350. Makes more of a crisp than a cake, but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
awesome! very very sweet. the easiest recipe ever. makes a huge batch, too! thanks. next time i might try doubling the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States