Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years at camp using a dutch oven. It is so popular I wouldn't be able to get away without making it every year. The ingredients are almost exactly the same: 1 (21 ounce) can cherry pie filling 1 (15 ounce) can crushed pineapple 1 (18.25 ounce) package French Vanilla cake mix 1 stick butter NO nuts Pour pie filling and pineapple into pan. Pour in cake mix and level it on the pan. Cut butter into pats and distribute over the top. Cover and cook with 25 hot charcoal briquettes: 12 on the bottom and 13 on the top. Bake for 45 minutes. One fellow camper described the taste as "like angels are making whoopee in my mouth" except he uses less politically correct terminology.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was good! I followed the recipe exactly, but the next time I make it I will probably make a couple of changes. I felt like it could've used more fruit, so I would probably add half a can of pie filling and half a can of pineapple. As for the butter & cake mix, I think next time I will cut the butter into the cake mix with a pastry cutter. Great recipe for a quick dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was semi okay. The butter didn't cover the entire top so there were large spots of powdered cake mix all over. I think using more butter would solve that problem but I won't make it again to find out. It wasn't too sweet for me and the pineapple cherry combo works well. It's really just the cake topping and the butter on top that I didn't care for. I love cake but evidently not dump cake. It's edible and I will eat it so it won't go to waste. My husband refused to even try it since the powdered cake mix didn't look appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Like others said this recipe is calculated wrong. Based on what I read in other reviews I did the following: 1: 2 regular cans of cherry pie filling. 2: I did not have crushed pineapple so I used 1 large can of pineapple chunks (drained) and pulsed it in my food processor till I got it into small bits. 3: 1/2 cup of butter cut into small thin pats on top. I went ahead and mixed the cake mix in with the cherries and the pineapple. I baked it for 40 min but felt it needed more time. I took it out of the oven and placed a half a stick of butter pats on top and broiled for 6 minutes (be sure to watch it so it does not burn). This gave it a nice dark crust on top. I found that broiling the final butter adds a sweet salty flavor that brings out this great dessert. I gave it 4 stars because the recipe was off but the concept gets 5 stars, Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I use Strawberry Pie filling and toasted pecans! YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Martin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I'm not a fan of cherries so I use a can of blackberry pie filling instead. It's even better! My family and I absolutely love our custom version and I have experimented with blueberry and strawberry pie filling as well. I also use 1 cup of butter on the top. Totally worth the added fat. This recipe is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I do not use the walnuts. (Personal Preference) and this dessert is sooo good. I've also used it as a brunch coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
easy love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
OMG!!! Soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States