Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Maybe I over mixed the cake mix with the fruit although it did look like what the video showed, but I think something went wrong. I definitely would NOT call this a cake. No way could this be cut to put on a plate, more like "eat it with a spoon out of a bowl". The flavor was good, but didn't care for the consistency, and it looked nothing like the finished product in the video. Disappointed and won't do a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used BUTTER WITH THIS AND PECANS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I make mine from scratch and leave the cake mix at the store. I use just crushed pineapple and rum and sprinkle shredded coconut on top. It tastes like a pina colado cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I used a chocolate cake mix and used pecans and it was a great recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I added extra cherries, almond extract, cinnamon and used peaches (since that is what I had) in place of pineapple. The pan I used was an airbake pan, so baking time was 55 minutes. Very quick, easy and good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I've been making this for over 20 years! I love this recipe! Simple and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjvarnadoe68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I looked up this recipe because I couldn't remember the order to layer the ingredients. This is close to my version with a couple differences I thought others might benefit from: 1. I don't bother mixing the cherry pie filling and pineapple together=each is it's own layer. 2. I use chopped pecans as they don't have the slightly bitter flavor walnuts tend to have. And most importantly 3. I use a sprinkled layer of light brown sugar which makes it imho. High Y-U-M factor!!! Only bake until heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangledNana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've always made this with the addition of coconut. Just sprinkle some on top, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Dont do what I did- I baked in a smaller cake dish thinking it would just take longer. The result: nuts on top burned but cake id not cook through. Will try again in future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My family loves this dessert. I do it just a little different. I put the cherry pie filling down first, then top with crushed pineapple (drained). Then top with cake mix. Pour 1 cup of melted butter over top of cake and then cover with shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States