Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
made this for my husband to take to work (we had to check Wikipedia to find some random thing to celebrate with Dump Cake, lol!). within 15 minutes of my hubby getting to work, i had an e-mail complementing the cake. lol! i think it took more effort to send off the e-mail than it did for me to make the cake. only adjustment.....pecans instead of walnuts. true GRITS here. oh, cake was destroyed. i didn't even get to taste it! well, i guess that's a great complement. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
When I make this I don't mix the cherry pie filling and pineapples - dump cherries then dump crushed pineapple and juice - spread out - dump cake mike and don't mix, just spread evenly, top with walnuts pieces, top with 1 1/2 sticks of butter pats and bake - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I just took the cake out of the oven. Not impressed with the way it looks or tastes. I now realize why(after reading the reviews)...I was not supposed to mix the cake mix and cherry/pineapple together. After reading the reviews now, I hear many people stating that. SOOO--I am giving this recipe only two stars since I do not think it was written correctly and now I am left with a cake thats not as good as its supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A classic I first tasted at Boy Scout Camp. Delicious anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this last night for the first time (to take on a camping trip we're leaving for. I didnt have enough time to find the materials I needed to build an oven for the fire, and didnt think those toss-away metal tart cups would withstand the hot coals) and was a little skeptical after putting it into the Toaster Oven. How tart would it be? How would the cake/crumb turn out? I'll tell you...Not too shabby!! We had to sneak a taste before we leave! I added an additional can of Cherry pie filling (I used the lite version..and for some reason while I was at the store, I thought it called for 2 cans, not 1. Glad I added the 2nd can though!!) and mixed it together with the pineapple. Topped with the cake mix and chopped hazelnuts (grabbed the wrong item at the store. DOH!). Used 1/2 a stick of butter (1/4 cup), unmelted and cut into chunks. Since I was using Convection, I turned down the temp to 325. Let it bake for 40 minutes. Turned out wonderful!! Topped with some ice cream, beautiful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe is so easy and absolutley delicious! And the best part is you can substitute any fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Used to like this as a kid but it's waaay too sweet. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious!!!!!!!!!!! I used a 20 oz can of chunk pineapples (with juice). My bag of walnuts was 6 oz., sprinkled half over the fruit, the other half over the cake mix. Used sliced margarine as per other reviews. I now make it into 2 desserts, only change is to use a round glass pie plate and also a square 9x9 glass pan. It looks more presentable than a 9x13 pan. Also this way I can call it a "Pineapple Cherry Crisp" rather than Dump Cake! I will now make these ingredients a staple in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My mom would make this when I was a kid, and my husband and family love this cake now. I do use 3/4 cup of butter, but other than that it is a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is sooooooo easy & so good! I've taken it to a couple parties/potlucks, and have received a lot of compliments! I followed the recipe exactly. I have had others that add coconut, but I am not a fan so I didn't include it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States