Dulcia Domestica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
They are fun to have something different but they were very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
perfect, different, and delicious. It falls under gluten free and veganish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are wonderful. Delicious and attractive, and very easy. Buy nice plump dates with the pits still in, and remove them yourself, and they are very easy to stuff. They make a great little after-dinner treat or go well as an accompaniment to wine and cheese. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I doubled the recipe as I was making it for my daughter's class. They had to do an italian recipe. I used blanched slivered almonds because that's what I had on hand. I toasted them in the microwave (zap 30sec at a time til golden brown). TIP: Since they were slivered, they were SUPER EASY to stuff. They were slightly sticky when done but not overly so. I did as directions stated which was to cook over medium heat and pulled the dates out as the skin started peeling back. Taste wise they were pretty good but I'm not a fan of raisins, prunes, etc. Same family so if you like raisins you'll likely REALLY enjoy these treats. My personal rating of 4 is only due to my taste preference but I'd give it a 10 for ease of preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These taste great but are too rich to eat too many! I googles the dish though... Cool history behind it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I've made these several times and they disappear quickly. Everyone has asked for the recipe which I believe is the best compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
We can't use any alcohol, but don't let that stop you from appreciating this fabulous recipe. Made once by the recipe (using pure non-sugared grape juice instead of wine) and they were awesome. Then made them again for a pot luck with some alterations. I made 2 dozen, 1/2 pinion-1/2 sliced almond - used freshly made concord grape juice without sugar - about 3/4 cup, with Agave - 3/4 cup, a sprinkle of fresh rosemary from my garden. Poached the dates in that over medium heat as the recipe states. Then I removed the dates, arranged them on a serving platter, added 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and reduced it to a sauce. Drizzled that over the dates and garnished with a twig of rosemary. It was a huge hit! Someone told my husband that he was so lucky to live with such a good cook... ha! I think you could use unsweetened cranberry - or almost any tart fruit juice and achieve a yummy result. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
so easy and so delicious. also did with maple syrup once instead of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
delicious, but I crowded the pan with too many and they were messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Definitely a super sweet treat (it's dates poached in honey, after all!), but it was so delicious! I made this with a friend and she stuffed the dates with the pine nuts, and apparently that was the hardest part about the recipe. Otherwise, it was simple, only calls for a few ingredients, and is a sweet accompaniment to a lineup of more savory bites to eat. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States