Dulce de Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Juliana,thank you,thank you!!!. I'm assuming that you are argentine,but just in case,I'll write this in english,I really needed the recipe in U.S. standard measurements and you have saved my day!!. This will help lots of argentine ladys cooking around the world. To other ladies that don't know what "dulce de leche" is,I suggest them to give it a try!!,spread it over buttered toast and you'll see what I'm talking about!!. Juliana,keep converting recipes!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I want to make this recipe. Does it matter what kind of milk I use? (2%, skim, whole?) Thanks for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
this is a great recipe for REAL manjar or dulce de leche, you can also make it by boiling an unopened can of condensed milk (be careful as it can explode if left unattended and the water evaporates) but this recipe is the more elaborate one for dulce de leche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viña Del Mar, Valparaíso, Chile
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Alright, for all the non-believers out there...I promise, this recipe really does work, and with a little time and a lot of patience, you WILL have beautiful, thick, caramel-y dulce de leche. I altered this recipe a tiny bit (I didn't use a whole gallon of milk, and lessened the amounts of the rest of the ingredients accordingly. When I was about 30 minutes into the final stage (stirring, stirring, stirring), and still just had hot vanilla milk, I too was quite discouraged. I tried playing around with the heat a little, and finally found that keeping it on high heat (it will constantly attempt to boil and foam over--just keep stirring) did the trick. After about 2 hours total (roughly an hour and a half of the final stirring stage), I couldn't believe my eyes when it FINALLY turned the promised golden brown, and thickened beautifully. All in all, the "milk jam" takes about 2 hours, more or less, of your time--and is well worth the wait. Stick it out! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This recipe works! It takes quite a lot of time but the end result is great dulce de leche, even better than store bought. I used only 1 liter of milk and scaled everything else down and I had to cook and stir it for about 40 minutes. This amount of milk made one jar of dulce de leche. The trick is to keep the heat high and just keep stirring (that will prevent the milk from boiling over). I didn't strain the milk because I didn't have a cheesecloth and it still worked out just fine. I'm already looking forward to make pancakes tomorrow - they are so good with dulce de leche. Thank you, Juliana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Bremen, Bremen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe for authentic dulce de leche! Be sure to use a wide, deep saucepan that will allow the milk to bubble and foam a bit. I kept the mixture at a steady simmer-almost-boil the whole time, and it was ready in about 45 minutes. Also, the recipe should note that the dulce de leche is ready when a spoon leaves a path in the bottom of the pan that disappears after a second or two. Any longer and the dulce de leche will be too stiff after it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This makes a really delicious caramel sauce, good on ice cream and apples among other things. As other people have said, this takes a long time to make (4+ hours). However, if you're cooking the milk slowly enough you don't have to watch over it so carefully, especially in the later stages. I left it alone for an hour without stirring and it didn't burn. You have to watch over it initially since the milk will foam up. Make sure you use a large enough pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. Like other reviewers, I kept it on high for most of the time, stirring fairly continuously. The mixture will slowly thicken and darken, until it is about half of the original volume. The only problem I encountered was in the last 5 minutes or so, when little bits began to burn at the bottom, no matter how fast I stirred... (but they are just harder caramel, so still yummy!) I used vanilla extract, 2% milk, and the whole process took less than an hour. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I loved this recipe. I actually made less by using 4 cups milk, 1 cup white sugar, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract. It was done in 35 minutes. I had it on medium-high the entire time and ended up transferring it to a larger pan in the middle of it since it kept wanting to overflow. I did beat "vigorously" the entire time, my husband helped for a few minutes and it was done! At 20 minutes, it started turning slightly light brown and was heavier in consistency, I chose to leave it longer because I like it thick but you can probably turn it off as soon as it starts to get thick and brown if you want it runnier. I am argentinian and grew up on this so I'm thrilled to have this recipe. I made swedish pancakes that are so easy and put the dulce de leche inside...yummmmmmy! For the swedish-like pancake recipe put everything in blender together: 3 eggs 2 cups milk 1 1/2 cup flour 3 Tbs sugar 2 Tbs oil 1 tsp salt Blend completely in blender. Fry very thin in hot frying pan coated with oil. Turn once, they should be lightly brown on both sides. Put a coat of dulde de leche and then roll them up. I like to add powdered sugar on top for presentation. Everyone will be impressed, these are delicious! Enjoy! (the swedish pancakes make about 24 pancakes, I cut this recipe in half to match the amount of dulce de leche made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I just finished this recipe, and it is AMAZING!! I am a caramel FREAK (Yes, I know Dulce isn't the same, but it may as well be to my taste buds!), and this is my first time trying to make anything like this. I followed the previous reviewer's variation: 4 Cups 2% milk, 1 Cup sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, and 1/4 tsp baking soda. I didn't have a problem with the sugar caramelizing over medium heat... I'm thinking it is probably because I have 'gormet' copper bottomed stainless steel pots. The whole process only took me an hour from measuring my milk to ending up with my dulce de leche topping for the cheesecake that's in my oven. Tastes awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States