Dulce de Leche Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
If you have leftover dulce de leche and are looking for a way to use it up, you need to be making these sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I love all the ingredients in this individually, and was sure based on the reviews putting them together would be fantastic, but it was just okay. Not bad, but not anything to write home about. I'd rather just dip the apples in the dulce de leche and cream cheese mixture than go to the trouble of grilling the sandwich. But even then, the mixture wasn't that great. The cream cheese added nothing to the dulce de leche, and the dulce took the bite out of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I used reduced fat whipped cream cheese an organic Granny Smith apple for this sandwich. Instead of using an aluminum non-stick skillet, I used my cast iron skillet. I heated the skillet, added a pat of butter and fried away. To say that my kids liked this would be an understatement. My son asked for a second sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My girlfriend had me over for brunch yesterday and she prepared this. it BLEW ME AWAY! it is so delish! She used maple bread instead of raisen bread and used caramel syrup for the dulce de leche - she said it was easier to just buy it. this was the best thing ever - i will be making this for guests for years to come in my kitchen. surprising and unique and very individual. BRILLIANT! EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was really good. I will definitely make again, but the next time I make, I will use a more tart apple like a granny smith. There's so much sweet that it needs to be balanced out with some tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
we used goat dulce de leche which gives it a slight goat cheese taste. I wasn't a huge fan and would make it with regular, but our friends loved it with the goats milk version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
It was delicious and so easy to make! Perfect for any time of day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a really great recipe. My 3 yr old LOVED it. It's not super sweet. Just right. Will definitely make it again. Someone wrote that they just used regular bread. Definitely have to use the cinnamon raisin bread because that was what made it perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Oh my, this is scrumptious. Had this for breakfast today with fruit salad. We probably would have been satisified with half a sandwich (rather than a whole) because it is so rich and decadent. The apple lends a nice crunch to this sweet and wonderful combination of ingredients. Don't change a thing on this, and do use the cinnamon-raisin bread as I think it's important. Now I have to find something else to make with the leftover dulce de leche (other than eating it by the spoonful out of the can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
AMAZING!!!!! YOU ARE A GENIUS!!!!!!! THIS TASTES LIKE DULCE DE LECHE CHEESECAKE BUT HEALTHIER OMG THANK YOU!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States