Duck and Fontina Pizza With Rosemary and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is unbelievably good! Even my picky eater requests this on a weekly basis! I did tweak the recipe. I used the duck fat and the same pan with 1/2 the oil to cook the onions. This flavors the onions and adds another level of flavor. Cook the onions but salt and pepper to taste and add 1/2 teaspoon of minced or smashed garlic. When the onions are lightly browned, add 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and another tablespoon of honey, reduce until the liquid is almost gone and very syrupy to make a balsamic reduction. Tastes just like the fancy flatbreads you get a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! Leftover duck from gifted Turducken. Used Chèvre cranberry goat cheese and a bit of mozzarella. Plus diced duck and a tiny bit of tomatoe and additional rosemary. ( pampered chef rosemary seasoning mix). FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADONNER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olivia Hubert-Allen
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Fantastic! My boyfriend doesn't like onions but he loved this recipe! It tasted very gourmet and buttery. We weren't able to find fresh duck but did find frozen duck at Whole Foods that worked just fine. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious! This pizza is EXTREMELY rich, I loved it but my fiance thought it was too much. More for me! If you are using wild duck, it doesn't reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gooding, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicous way to eat duck! My boyfriend hunts ... and we were looking for a different way to prepare fresh duck .. This was like nothing we ever had before! Amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I totally LOVED the flavors of the fontina, duck, sweet onions and rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The first bite was delicious, but after a few more bites, the richness became so ovewhelming that my husband and I both put it down and couldn't eat any more. Since I only used 4 ozs of the goat cheese, I can't imagine this pizza with all 8 ozs! I took one reviewer's advice to add some potatoes roasted in a drizzle of the duck fat... the potatoes alone were yummy, but they got lost in the richness of the pizza. I really wanted to love this dish; this recipe has the components of a really great gourmet pizza. I will try it again, though, either drastically cutting back on the goat cheese or even eliminating it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Outstanding. For a truly decadent version, cook the duck breast first and save the rendered fat. Slice a potato thinly and drizzle the duck fat over the slices before roasting them in the oven. Add the roast potato slices as another layer of the pizza. I also used goat cheese which had honey added. Really, great fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Love, love, love this! I have been looking for a recipe like this every since I had it as an appetizer in a gourmet restaurant. This was just like it except they had thinly sliced grilled/roasted potatoes on theirs so I added that. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This wasnt terrible but I didnt really enjoy the combo of goat cheese and duck together. I did however LOVE the caramelized onions with a bit of honey and the fontina cheese with the duck. I believe I will make this again however I will look for a different base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States