Dublin Coddle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I boil the meat (I use sausage and smoked pork chops) in cider first and then layer the meat, onion, thinly sliced carrots and thinly sliced potatoes in several layers. Then pour in the cider, cover and simmer for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I substituted breakfast sausage for the Irish Sausage and when it was almost done, I added a 1/4 cup milk with 4 tbsp of cornstarch to really thicken up the broth. But that is all I did to this recipe. It was FANTASTIC!!! It tastes the same as the Coddle I ordered at an Irish Pub in Bloomington Indiana! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The recipe is great. My husband is a picky eater and loves it. I just made a few changes. I used smoked sausage and red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
WHEN MY MUM SHOWED ME HOW TO MAKE THIS CODDLE WE USED HOMEMADE VEG SOUP AND ADD THE SAUSAGE (EASIER TO USE SKINLESS)AND BACON TO THE SOUP TO COOK GENTLE LIKE A STEW.IT GIVES IT A REAL HEARTY FLAVOUR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
It smells absolutely delicious. I added the potatoes after the liquid because I couldn't see in the recipe when to do it. I also added peas. Super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this for St Patrick's day a few years ago, with Irish Cider Cake for Dessert. It's a wonderfully hearty dish. As long as quality (85% pork and above) sausages are used, and good cuts of bacon, I don't really think it needs any more seasoning. Just a twist of salt and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is the kind of thing my mum would make for me and my brother when we were kids. It's simple, no-frills, hearty comfort food, and pretty inexpensive too. That being said, I think a lot of people are going to find it very bland. I added garlic and onion powders, and made it with homemade chicken stock, and it was still pretty blah. Husband sprinkled hot sauce over his. Not bad, but it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States