D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
added about 4 extra cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The first time I made this recipe I made it exactly as advertised, but I'm going to add a few things that make it even better. Add in the tomatoes, salt, cilantro, garlic, lime into the food processor. Now add half a teaspoon of ground cumin. I substitute real jalapenos in this recipe as well, so I chop them up and use the seeds (where the heat is!). One jalapeno will get you a medium salsa, two will get you hot. I add the seeds into the food processor along with the ingredients above and run the food processor until it's very well mixed. It should be watery. Now, add in the onions and chopped jalapeno that you diced up and pulse the food processor one or two times ONLY. This way when you pull your salsa out, you'll have chunks of onion and jalapeno with a nicely mixed salsa. Refrigerate before serving for a few hours. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
D's Famous Salsa Haiku: "Wow, big thanks to 'D', Crazy easy to make this. Eaten up real fast!" Not much else to say other than 5-stars as written, no changes, pulsed mine longer for a smoother salsa, and it was unreal how good this was. I wouldn't have minded a jalapeno (or several) thrown in for a kick, but I served this at a party w/ some younger palates in attendance, and every age devoured it w/ zeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I cannot stop eating this. So easy and so good. I didn't change anything...well, maybe a little extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I'm giving this recipe five stars because it's very easy to make and it's one of the best I've tasted. It's great to be able to adjust the heat and consistency based one's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Good, but the taste seems to mellow after being in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Excellent! I added tomato paste (probably 4-5 ozs) because I had a can open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Quick and easy! Tastes better after the flavors have time to mingle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
VERY EASY AND TASTY. I USED HOT GREEN CHILES FOR EXTRA KICK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Whether you are using canned or fresh tomatoes, you simply can't go wrong with D's recipe. I've been using it and the family is like "Where'd you buy that salsa?" LOL. If you're using fresh tomatoes I'd go with either beefsteak or roma, but then you have to do the whole skin/seeds/water removal. Just keep in mind, there's something about a stewed tomato that is all about flavor enhancement. Way to go, D, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomato Basics

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States