D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
A-ok. Liked it just fine. I would like a little more kick, so will try hot sauce and spices next time. Did it in the food processor and didn't chop anything first, so it is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Perhaps my blender is not that good, but I just got a soupy salsa that tasted average. My advice would be not to use a blender whatsoever and chop/dice everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonmelohall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I guess I am not a cilantro fan. I haven't cooked with it before and I really couldn't taste anything but the cilantro once I tasted this salsa. I did try to let it sit overnight hoping it would taste better but no luck. I'll still give 3 stars because if I had left the cilantro out I have a feeling this would have been OK, though nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I love that you can utilize this recipe to your liking. I used fresh tomatoes, corn, lime and garlic. Only items I used in my food processor were the onions, green peppers and garlic. For just a few seconds. Tomatoes and corn were added and along with seasonings and it came out great. My recommendation would be to leave the tomatoes out of the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
LOVEEED IT! Added 3 more tablespoons of cilantro and a dash of cumin. Had it for a family get together and it was gone in literally an hr! mmmmmmm =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great and simple salsa recipe. I strained my tomatoes of as much of the juice as I could to avoid a runny salsa. I added half a jalapeno to mine and per other review recommendations, used non-generic canned stewed tomatoes. Make sure you check for seasoning after you mix the ingredients, mine needed a bit more salt. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Note: I think this recipe would be even better if I had all the right ingredients. However, I only had one can of stewed tomatoes, no fresh anything and a can of Rotel (lime and cilantro variety). I used 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can rotel (green chiles with lime and cilantro variety), 1 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp lime juice. Even with these inferior ingredients, this salsa is great. Just like a fresh mexican restaurant salsa. I drained all my tomatoes and the salsa was still pretty wet. This salsa recipe is good enough to get me to buy fresh onion, garlic and cilantro - not things normally seen in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
the WORST recipe i have ever tried for salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. The only thing I would change is maybe chopping the tomatoes by hand. I pulsed them in the food processor for only seconds, but they still got too juicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Great recipe that I made a few tweaks to. After making the salsa I add one 14.5oz can of corn, drain it completely, then stir it in. It adds some texture and crunch. I've also started adding 1/4 cup of Tequila to the salsa, getting good reviews on this tweak from family and friends. Add it in after as well, mix it very thoroughly. Note, this will make the salsa more "soupy" so I drain some of the liquid from the tomatoes before adding them. Also to save time, I just throw everything but the tomatoes in the processor first, give it a few pulses to dice up the cilantro and onion, then add tomatoes. No reason to dice them up first, let the machine do the work. A great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States