D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good I cant buy salsa in a jar ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
pretty good. it tastes a little too much like plain stewed tomatoes, though. don't know how to improve it . . . perhaps some additional onion and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very good salsa. And a perfect combination of flavors. I suggest following the recipe to a T, except, add more garlic. 1tsp was not near enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now and its really good. I've used roma tomatoes, hunts stewed, and store brand stewed tomatoes..The hunts stewed were by far the best. And also make sure to drain the tomatoes first or it will be a little too runny :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DominickerHenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My brother-in-law made this for a get-together and we LOVED it. Great with jalapenos and/or green chiles, depending on how spicy your audience likes it. Great fresh and within the first 3-4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My family loves this recipe, make it for most family functions and serve as chips and salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. I doubled the recipe and cooked it for 30 minutes, decanted it into several jars and froze it. We eat TONS of this stuff and it's useful in lots of recipes. Only difference was the addition of a couple of tablespoons of white vinegar. Didn't use the food processor but a potato masher (after it was cooked) to make the pieces of tomato smaller and more consistant in size. It makes good gifts and I always get blue ribbon reports!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Love this!! Just because of preference, I used diced tomoates instead of Stewed and lemon juice instead of lime. We even put this on hamburgers and pepperjack cheese and call them Pico Burgers - HUGE YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
The BEST salsa!! Can't go back to a battle, store bought one any more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The second time I tried this I still felt like 'something' was missing. I read where someone suggested using a little chili powder, so I tried it and it helped a LOT!! I also used fresh tomatoes (no substitute for this if you want fresh tasting salsa) and one fresh jalapeno finely diced. I didn't put all of the tomatoes in the blender so I had control over still having some tomatoe chunks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States