D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was GREAT.. I used roma tomatos instead of stewed and I also added 1tsp of chili powder as well as 1 tsp of cumin. Loved the texture and fresh flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
WOW! What a great salsa recipe! The only changes I made were I added half a jalapeno with the seeds which gave it a "medium" spice, which is perfect for my family's taste. So simple and after it chills for a couple hours it is DELICIOUS! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tennisgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I would have given this 10 stars if I could. ABSOLUTELY the best salsa I've ever had. I was just hoping for close to the salsa from my favorite restaurant but it was better. I used the Mexican stewed tomatoes, as suggested, but will probably add a chile to it next time for just a little heat! The flavor was stupendous. Thanks so much. I'll be sharing this with everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Summit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Really easy and tastes great. I make it as described, but I do drain the tomatoes because I personally like chunky and not watery salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is great. The only change I made is I used crushed tomatoes as I like my salsa thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
great recipe. except i altered it a bit to my taste. i added more cilantro. I also used fresh tomatoes, and fresh garlic. it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is a solid Salsa Recipe to have. Good flavor, not difficult to make at all. I usually use Jalapeno Peppers instead of Green Chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abe Haynes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The original recipe tasted a bit bland, but after adding one picante pepper the salsa tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Tried this recipe twice and made a couple of modifications the second time with tastier results. What I did different was drain the stewed tomatoes before putting them in the blender, and I added 3 fresh jalapenos instead of the canned green chiles... this gave it a nice little kick. I would suggest preparing the salsa and letting it sit overnight in the fridge or at least a few hours before you plan on serving it...well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stosh63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
When I first saw this recipe, I wasn't really sure why this simple recipe with common ingredients can be "so good." But because of its simplicity and many reviewers said it'll only takes a few pressing of a pulse button, I've decided to try this. I've got everything except my grocery store was completely out of limes because of Cinco de Mayo so I had to substitute it with lemon. I also got fresh chili peppers just in case and was very tempted to use those instead of canned peppers because I was worried about the canned stewed tomatoes and canned peppers might make the taste of this salsa like a store bought jarred salsa which I really hate but I decided to give the canned pepper a try. I only made half of what's written and it was super quick to make. From the gathering of ingredients to pour the salsa into a bowl, it took less than 5 minutes. But because it was just for me, I thought it still made a plenty of salsa, probably good for at least 2-4 people. Well, that was only 15 minutes ago and my salsa is... GONE! Yes, I finished 2/3 of the salsa while I was standing next to the blender, and finally sat down to enjoy the rest. Did I read someone did the same thing somewhere?! Well, anyways, I don't even have much chips left but I'm debating if I should just make another batch! It was delicious for sure. Thank you! I guess I can stop buying salsa from the Mexican restaurant now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States