D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh tomatoes rather than canned and no chilies because my family does not like anything hot, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
As written, I'm giving this recipe 3 out of 5 stars. It's a good base recipe but not very spicy or flavorful. We used this recipe a second time but added 1 tsp each of chili powder and cumin. Also substituted 4 jalapenos (two whole and two seeded) for the green chiles and squeezed in the juice of a whole lime. These changes jazzed it up somewhat but we may experiment with different types of peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
great salsa recipe. we now make this every time we make Mexican for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Surprisingly good for mostly canned ingredients! I also added a few dashes of Tabasco and some chile powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyG42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is our go to Salsa...only change is I use 2 cans of rotel to add heat. This is so good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Amazing for how easy this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My husband made this salsa for a BBQ we hosted recently and it was delicious. The only change he made was the addition of a jalapeno pepper and he used fresh tomatoes rather than canned. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Good basic start for a recipe. If you like your salsa extra hot & spicy, then you will have to experiment with other peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
5 out of 5 stars! The salsa came out EXCELLENT! Jamee suggested Hunt's tomatoes, but I could not find any at my local grocery store so I used Del Monte's. Although the salsa came out flawless, I used the wrong canned chilies that came sliced with no seeds. It was not a bad thing because I have family members who can't eat spicy food anymore. Again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! Tastes very fresh and is perfect the way it is. Just strain the tomatoes before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 743) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States