D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is the best salsa I have ever had. I've made it over and over. Family loves it and it is my go to salsa. I only added more garlic and hot chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
There's something missing here. I don't know whether the lime drowned out some of the spice. Probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Really good. I've never made salsa before, but know what I like in a salsa. I used a 28 oz. box of finely chopped tomatoes, which I drained as some had recommended, but now I wish I hadn't, as the salsa came out thicker than I expected. And, I didn't have chiles, so I used one fresh jalepeno (next time I will just use half of one). Other than that, I followed to the letter, and am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, but the fresh tomatoes just don't have enough tomato flavor. I might try to go half and half next time... 1 can of diced tomatoes and the rest as fresh diced. It is a good recipe, not great... needs a bit more zip to it. Maybe some hot sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Just like everyone else said, it was great, simple, easy and quick! I blended half of it and gave it a try, after doing so I added a bit more lime, salt, and garlic. Then also added some crushed red pepper, and sliced jalapenos to give it a little more kick. Then blended the whole batch together and it is just great! It is similar to my favorite local mexican restaurants salsa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This salsa is incredible! I used ingredients that I had on hand so I modified slightly. I used my tomatoes that I had canned last summer and garlic in a jar. I didn't have any green chile's but I did have a can of Rotel so I added that. Taste was so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah R
Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used sweet onions and added 1 tsp cayenne pepper rdw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Amazing! And the more lime the better. I had 2 cups left over and used it as the base for mexican rice. I added a tbsp of knorr chicken bullion. Sauteed 1 cup white rice in 1 tsp vegetable oil, then added the salsa and cooked until it was boiling. Then tossed the lid on and threw it in a 300 degree oven for 1 hour. It was amazing. Served it to an owner of a mexican restaurant and he was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was a very good and easy recipe. I had to leave out the green chiles because I was with people who don't like any heat. I will be sure to add it the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is very similar to the salsa I make at home. I love cilantro so I make two batches, one with tons of it for me and one with none for my roommate. I do blend it because I like it the consistency of applesauce. I also add jalapeno or serrano peppers. We use it almost every day - on eggs, sandwiches, salads, chips, quesadillas. Love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimcronin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States