D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. I doubled the recipe and cooked it for 30 minutes, decanted it into several jars and froze it. We eat TONS of this stuff and it's useful in lots of recipes. Only difference was the addition of a couple of tablespoons of white vinegar. Didn't use the food processor but a potato masher (after it was cooked) to make the pieces of tomato smaller and more consistant in size. It makes good gifts and I always get blue ribbon reports!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Love this!! Just because of preference, I used diced tomoates instead of Stewed and lemon juice instead of lime. We even put this on hamburgers and pepperjack cheese and call them Pico Burgers - HUGE YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
The BEST salsa!! Can't go back to a battle, store bought one any more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The second time I tried this I still felt like 'something' was missing. I read where someone suggested using a little chili powder, so I tried it and it helped a LOT!! I also used fresh tomatoes (no substitute for this if you want fresh tasting salsa) and one fresh jalapeno finely diced. I didn't put all of the tomatoes in the blender so I had control over still having some tomatoe chunks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My kids swear that this is just like at the mexican restaurant. So fresh and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delish~ First time making home made salsa and I think I now know what everyone will be getting for Christmas this year! I followed the original recipe for the most part. Changes that I made include: only 1 TBS of cilantro because I don't really like the stuff (but how can you completely leave it out of salsa?!?!), 3 lg cloves of garlic, italian flavored stewed tomatoes, lime juice & lemon juice (not sure how much, I just started squirting), 4oz can of chopped green chili, my usual seasoning that I pretty much put in everything (garlic powder, onion powder, Tony Chachere's Original seasoning, pepper, parsley,& oregano) and now that I think about it I think I accidentally used a whole onion?? I was a also hesitant to blend it all up since I like mine chunky, but the hubby convinced me too and it was great! I did add some corn at the end and a some of the chopped onion that I had set aside in order to give it a little texture. I also would have tossed some black beans in at the end if I had them, but I was that lucky ;o) Mmmm~ SO~O~O GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
It's a little sweet for my husband and I. I might add some jalapenos and use a different stewed tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This has to be the best salsa ever! I don't know why I waited so long to give this one a try. I did use fresh tomatoes, because I had to use them up, but I'm sure that it would be just as good with the canned tomatoes. The flavors were spot on with just the right balance of all the ingredients involved. This is definitely going to be my go-to recipe. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Good, but not over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I like chunky salsa so I dont blend it. I also add jalapenos and banana pepper rings diced up and some of the juice. I use fresh tomatoes if I have them on hand. Last time I made it i added a chopped avocado and let it meld a little and used as a topping for carne asada tacos. My husband started eating the tortillas with just the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States