D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now and its really good. I've used roma tomatoes, hunts stewed, and store brand stewed tomatoes..The hunts stewed were by far the best. And also make sure to drain the tomatoes first or it will be a little too runny :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Powell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My brother-in-law made this for a get-together and we LOVED it. Great with jalapenos and/or green chiles, depending on how spicy your audience likes it. Great fresh and within the first 3-4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My family loves this recipe, make it for most family functions and serve as chips and salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good. I doubled the recipe and cooked it for 30 minutes, decanted it into several jars and froze it. We eat TONS of this stuff and it's useful in lots of recipes. Only difference was the addition of a couple of tablespoons of white vinegar. Didn't use the food processor but a potato masher (after it was cooked) to make the pieces of tomato smaller and more consistant in size. It makes good gifts and I always get blue ribbon reports!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Love this!! Just because of preference, I used diced tomoates instead of Stewed and lemon juice instead of lime. We even put this on hamburgers and pepperjack cheese and call them Pico Burgers - HUGE YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
The BEST salsa!! Can't go back to a battle, store bought one any more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The second time I tried this I still felt like 'something' was missing. I read where someone suggested using a little chili powder, so I tried it and it helped a LOT!! I also used fresh tomatoes (no substitute for this if you want fresh tasting salsa) and one fresh jalapeno finely diced. I didn't put all of the tomatoes in the blender so I had control over still having some tomatoe chunks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My kids swear that this is just like at the mexican restaurant. So fresh and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delish~ First time making home made salsa and I think I now know what everyone will be getting for Christmas this year! I followed the original recipe for the most part. Changes that I made include: only 1 TBS of cilantro because I don't really like the stuff (but how can you completely leave it out of salsa?!?!), 3 lg cloves of garlic, italian flavored stewed tomatoes, lime juice & lemon juice (not sure how much, I just started squirting), 4oz can of chopped green chili, my usual seasoning that I pretty much put in everything (garlic powder, onion powder, Tony Chachere's Original seasoning, pepper, parsley,& oregano) and now that I think about it I think I accidentally used a whole onion?? I was a also hesitant to blend it all up since I like mine chunky, but the hubby convinced me too and it was great! I did add some corn at the end and a some of the chopped onion that I had set aside in order to give it a little texture. I also would have tossed some black beans in at the end if I had them, but I was that lucky ;o) Mmmm~ SO~O~O GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
It's a little sweet for my husband and I. I might add some jalapenos and use a different stewed tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 161-170 (of 760) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States