D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have been using my own version of this recipe for years! I use the Rotel or 1 can of tomatoes with green chiles instead of stewed tomatoes. I also enjoy a Jalepeno (seeded or not), if you enjoy the Tex- Mex. Taste. I enjoy this recipe so much, that I never buy store bought any more! Tacos, & any Mexican dish taste better with a fresher Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent salsa recipe! The only things that I did differently were that I added some extra cilantro and used 1 can of tomatoes and then used fresh Roma tomatoes instead of the other can. My family has gobbled up almost all of the salsa in one dinner sitting and the recipe makes a decent amount of salsa. I went to go get the salsa out of the fridge to eat it this evening and caught my mom eating it in her room. She said "this is so good!" That's all I needed to hear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Galyean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The best salsa recipe ! I don't even go near canned salsa in supermarkets now and have stopped eating nachos at cinema because the salsa with it tastes terrible ! Thank you for this recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Really good recipe. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar and 2 teaspoons of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great! Add a splash of Worcestershire sauce and one minced chipotle pepper in adobo sauce for a little kick. Makes enough for an army, so cut in half if you're not feeding a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
added one whole lemon (juiced) instead of half. and, more cilantro. thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So good I cant buy salsa in a jar ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
pretty good. it tastes a little too much like plain stewed tomatoes, though. don't know how to improve it . . . perhaps some additional onion and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very good salsa. And a perfect combination of flavors. I suggest following the recipe to a T, except, add more garlic. 1tsp was not near enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now and its really good. I've used roma tomatoes, hunts stewed, and store brand stewed tomatoes..The hunts stewed were by far the best. And also make sure to drain the tomatoes first or it will be a little too runny :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Powell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States