D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
It's a little sweet for my husband and I. I might add some jalapenos and use a different stewed tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This has to be the best salsa ever! I don't know why I waited so long to give this one a try. I did use fresh tomatoes, because I had to use them up, but I'm sure that it would be just as good with the canned tomatoes. The flavors were spot on with just the right balance of all the ingredients involved. This is definitely going to be my go-to recipe. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Good, but not over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I like chunky salsa so I dont blend it. I also add jalapenos and banana pepper rings diced up and some of the juice. I use fresh tomatoes if I have them on hand. Last time I made it i added a chopped avocado and let it meld a little and used as a topping for carne asada tacos. My husband started eating the tortillas with just the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Easy and delicious. My company all said that store bought salsa will never be the same again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcmeade79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have finally found the perfect salsa recipe! I used lemon instead of lime because I didn't have a lime. I think it is important to use Hunt's stewed tomatoes, not just any tomatoes. Also, drain them like previous posters have suggested. We prefer about 1/2 the cilantro because once in the fridge, it gets very strong. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyasMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Added some fresh chopped romas which added some freshness to the salsa, so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is a bland, mild base recipe from which to juggle ingredients to your particular taste. Plan on using the entire onion, a lot more garlic, most of the bunch of cilantro, more lime juice (or vinegar, but why not have the vitamin C), and if you want heat, lots more peppers. And use fresh peppers, they're terrific, have no salt, and make the flavor pop. If you're trying for restaurant-style salsa, do plan on adding the cilantro, and lots of it. I used the entire bunch in mine (which is why it's so green - if you want the cilantro flavor but not the color, use the stems instead of the leaves.) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
LOVE this!!! Now that we've been eating more healthy, this hits the spot! I Let it sit overnight in fridge, stirred right before smoothing over a whole grain wrap, add veggies, low-fat mozzerela and baked at 350ish for 10 minutes.... My husband LOVES it too! Reminds me of the home made pizza sauce mom and dad made when we were growing up... "Pizza Night at Mar-Dan's!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liberty_bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
as written its only 4 stars. i made it with fresh tomatos from the garden and then followed the recipe exact except i used bottled lime juice instead of fresh lime juice. its extremely mild and took a lot of tinkering around with to get it spicy enough but not too spicy. i ended up adding 4 seeded jalapenos and 2 whole (seeds and all) some chili powder, cayenne pepper and a little bit of cumin just for a little extra flavor. after 3 days of simmering in the fridge, its now perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States