D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Julie Loubert
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I love that I can quickly make homemade salsa with items that I usually have on hand. It's also great that I don't have to sit there and dice up a slew of tomatoes. On that note: I used canned diced tomatoes (one Rotel and one Hunts petite diced), drained, and I mixed everything by hand rather than using the blender because I prefer a thicker, chunkier salsa. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Wow! Now, this is some really good salsa! No wonder the word "famous" is in the title! I've been searching for a really good salsa recipe and I think I've finally come across some really good stuff. I cut the recipe in half and used a 14.5 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes. Instead of green chiles I opted to used 1 Tbsp. of jalepeno as that's what I had on hand. I added 2 tsp. of apple cider vinegar, 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar, and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I put this into my mini food processor and let it go.... I put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend and this is now my "go to" salsa recipe. Perfect with warm tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious! Reminds me of my grandfather's Salsa! Next time I will add Jalapenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
this was ok alone. we tried it after making it and decided it was missing something. scouring the site for other salsa recipes led us to add a bit more salt, some vinegar, some red pepper, and some chili powder. it was great with the additions, but not so great on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! It's super easy and quick. Thanks for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Such a good salsa! The taste is so refreshing! I love it! I used it for canning. :) I love having it all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Awesome!!! Didn't used canned chillies, used about 3/4 a fresh jalopeno instead. I am a texan and this stuff is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I followed the advice of others and added cumin and taco seasoning. I also added some fresh chopped green chillies. Very good salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this last night for the Super Bowl, and it was AWESOME! Way better than anything I ever bought in the store. I bought the Del Monte Italian brand of tomatoes (not sure if this made a difference) and drained them first (I think this definitely made a difference). I also went ahead and used the pulse option in my food processor to keep a tiny bit of onion chunks in there (I did not dice them first but just cut the onion up into "smaller" pieces). Totally recommend! Will never buy store salsa again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wonderful! Just like our favorite Mexican Restaurant makes. The only thing I added per the suggestion of one of the other reviewers was 1 teaspoon chili powder. We'll definitely make this one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States