D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This turned out fantastic. Due to heart failure, I'm on a sodium restrictive diet, so I'm always looking for ways to make my own of the high sodium foods I enjoy like soup, salsa, spaghetti sauce, taco season, etc. I followed the recipe exactly except I halved the recipe since it was my first batch. Used a can of no salt added diced tomato with garlic, basil and oregano - drained. 3/4 white onion, 1/2 lime juiced, 3 tbsp green chilis, 1/4 tsp table salt and 1/4 tsp no salt substitute and 1.5 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro. Threw everything in the blender and pulsed a few times to my desired consistency. Chilled for a couple hours and WOW, the natural taste of homemade salsa was awesome!! I now have a very, very low sodium salsa I can eat with my no salt tortilla chips, eggs, meatloaf, etc. Wonderful!! Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this last night for a Mexican themed football night. Can't begin to explain how good it was. Everyone loved it. I made it as is. Didn't change anything and it was amazing. We're having some as we speak and is even better today. Will definitely be making this regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I liked the flavor but my husband wanted it to be chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
PERFECT!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and this salsa is better than my fave salsa at my fave Mexican restaurant. My family likes the not-so-chunky salsas so I like using the blender for this. So fresh tasting, no more store-bought salsa for this girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
looks good, taste great.... would drain the water before blending canned tomatoes though little watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent! I followed earlier reviews, used Hunts and drained the tomatoes. Wonderful! Thanks for the tips, always a help! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Enjoyed, thank you! I tweaked to my own taste buds and added 2 fresh seeded jalepeno peppers and a tsp. of chili powder, a whole onion and a fresh tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very tasty! Added some diced Roma tomatoes to it little extra garlic and about half the salt everyone loved it ty for the recipe. Had it along with turkey tacos and sliced avacados
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Perfect!! The only change I will make next time is add jalapeno to kick up the heat. This is close to my favorite restaurants. I will try with different types of canned tomoatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My family likes a little more 'heat' so I made mine with can of hot Rotel and a can of stewed tomatoes. They loved it. My son actually says it's better than any store bought salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States