D's Famous Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is a good option when you're craving salsa in the winter time. I agree with the others, though; make sure you buy quality canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This turned out fantastic. Due to heart failure, I'm on a sodium restrictive diet, so I'm always looking for ways to make my own of the high sodium foods I enjoy like soup, salsa, spaghetti sauce, taco season, etc. I followed the recipe exactly except I halved the recipe since it was my first batch. Used a can of no salt added diced tomato with garlic, basil and oregano - drained. 3/4 white onion, 1/2 lime juiced, 3 tbsp green chilis, 1/4 tsp table salt and 1/4 tsp no salt substitute and 1.5 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro. Threw everything in the blender and pulsed a few times to my desired consistency. Chilled for a couple hours and WOW, the natural taste of homemade salsa was awesome!! I now have a very, very low sodium salsa I can eat with my no salt tortilla chips, eggs, meatloaf, etc. Wonderful!! Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this last night for a Mexican themed football night. Can't begin to explain how good it was. Everyone loved it. I made it as is. Didn't change anything and it was amazing. We're having some as we speak and is even better today. Will definitely be making this regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I liked the flavor but my husband wanted it to be chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
PERFECT!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and this salsa is better than my fave salsa at my fave Mexican restaurant. My family likes the not-so-chunky salsas so I like using the blender for this. So fresh tasting, no more store-bought salsa for this girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
looks good, taste great.... would drain the water before blending canned tomatoes though little watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent! I followed earlier reviews, used Hunts and drained the tomatoes. Wonderful! Thanks for the tips, always a help! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Enjoyed, thank you! I tweaked to my own taste buds and added 2 fresh seeded jalepeno peppers and a tsp. of chili powder, a whole onion and a fresh tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very tasty! Added some diced Roma tomatoes to it little extra garlic and about half the salt everyone loved it ty for the recipe. Had it along with turkey tacos and sliced avacados
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States