Dry Rub for Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This rub was O.K. but it has a fundamental flaw. Never, EVER rub salt into the meat until just (10-20 mins.) before cooking time! This really dries out whatever meat you are using and adds to the overall saltiness of your dish. I grew up in the midwest and cooked at a rib joint for four years, making literally tons of ribs. Please do not make potentially great BBQ average by salting it too early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Every year I make baby-back ribs for about 60 people for the 4th of July. This dry rub has perfected my recipe! (First, sprinkle ribs generously with liquid smoke, then add dry rub - wrap individually in foil and bake slowly in oven - add some BBQ sauce and throw on the grill for a few minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I used it today for our pork steaks and OMG, it was SOOO yummy. It kept the steaks juicy and was perfect. I did like all the suggestions said and added dried onion and some red pepper. I let it sit in the fridge for 5.5 hours. My husband was raving about it and even my "no, I'll wait and eat pizza at the party" son ate some. I'll be making this OFTEN. I put it in the blender and mixed it all together so I could put it in a seasoning jar. Makes it easier to apply and store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
We really loved this rub. For years I had used one from Cuisine Magazine, but couldn't find the recipe anymore. I tried this one and my family raved that they were the best ribs yet. I made some alterations... * Cut back to about 1 Tbsp kosher salt * Used 1 teaspoon pepper * Used 1/2 Tablespoon garlic powder * Added about 1 tsp of dry mustard powder I cooked the ribs in a slow oven (about 250 degrees) for 3 1/2 hours. This was for 2 2 slabs. Then, grilled them and added some BBQ sauce while grilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
My food tasted like brine after using only a tiny amount of this rub. I'd recommend people halve or quarter the amount of salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Overall, a very good rub. However I upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, cut back the salt to 2 tsp. and the black pepper down to 1/2 tsp. And, because I love to play with a recipe I added 1 tsp. of onion powder, 1 Tbsp. of cumin, and 1 Tbsp. of chili powder. I rubbed some baby back ribs with this and marinated for a few hours vs. overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This a very nice dry rub. So easy and fast to prepare. A person is also very likely to have all the ingredients on hand. A real plus in my house! I used this dry rub as a base for BBQ country ribs. I tasted the ribs with only the dry rub and then after the BBQ was added. My family and I liked better with just this dry rub on it. Give this recipe a whirl, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This was a wonderful rub! I did take suggestions from other reviews and added chili powder and onions, and I also used fresh pressed garlic in place of the powder. We Love this rub on all meats! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is delicious! I've tried it on ribs that have marinated for 3 hours, and on ribs that I just rubbed down and threw in the oven. Tastes the same! It comes out a little spicy, so next time I might cut the black pepper in half. But still finger lickin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I have made this over and over again. It is wonderful. With only 5 ingredients, it tastes too good to be true. ***** 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States