Dry Rub for Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Followed suggestion of reviewer "sunnydale" with regards to sprinkling ribs with liquid smoke and then putting on the dry rub. Fantastic!!!!! We have made them many times. They turn out perfect everytime. Rave reviews from everyone who eats them. We don't even bother throwing them on the grill as they come out falling off the bones from the oven. Have tried on beef ribs as well as pork. Pork is the best. Serving them today to a crowd of 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Never, ever, ever add salt to rib meat a day ahead of time. Salt dries meat out and makes it jerkyish. This rub is good I've used it more than once but I must say adding salt to baby backs this far in advance will make your ribs tough. I personally like fall of the bone moist ribs and have been cooking them for about 12 years now. The first lesson I learned was low temps and slow cooking, the second never add salt until your almost done (10-15 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat McCune

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
HOLY YUM!!! I've made bbq ribs many times but never used a dry rub. SOOOOO GOOD!!! I cut the salt in half and added 1tsp of dry mustard and 1/2 tsp cumin. VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Good start, needs work though. Less salt, added onion powder and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hippi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Brooksie.. have issue with your review.. not sure where you heard not to use salt proir with rub.. but your crazy... you watch or talk with any bbq pro's there are plenty of them out there that use straight Salt and Pepper rubs prior to cooking.... please dont give bad advice if ya dont know what your talking about. Other then that this RUB works everyone has diffferent taste palets so try it out and see if you like it ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
great rub, i cooked mine on rotisseri on grill on low heat, i added more rub as the skin and fat cooked. after 2 1/2 to 3 hours everything was crispy and carmelized. i also added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp chili powder to the rub while deleting 1/2 tsp of the salt. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is my 'go-to' rub recipe however I like to add ground coffee, but don't use salt in the rub cause the bbq sauce has enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
no salt. let sit in foil 5 hrs. bake on low 3 hrs then grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was the first time I fixed ribs myself and both kids LOVED them. Made the rub as written except i used minced garlic. Slow roasted for about 4 hour them on the grill...Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent flavor. I used fresh minced garlic and increase the amount (but I always increase the garlic!) and I also used come onion powder. In the last 10 minutes or so of grilling, I just coated the ribs with a brushing of Lucille's barbecue sauce. Delicious. Grill the ribs very slowly, at least an hour and a half on very low temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States