Dry Rub for Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I used this marinade on pork loin and it was overwhelmingly too peppery...overpowered the marinade and the pork!! I would cut the pepper in half just to be on the safe side! Otherwise it was great. I love a good dry rub recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poetdoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good base recipe. You can tweek to your personal liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Merrill, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This rub was good, but it needed a little more "zip" for my taste. Next time I make it, I'll take the suggestion of some other reviewers & add some red pepper. I made the recipe exactly as it called for, but I added 1 teaspoon of onion powder and I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and waited to salt the ribs until right before I put them in the oven. I rubbed the rest of the spices on the ribs, wrapped them in foil and put them in the frig for about 5 hours before putting them in a 350 oven for an hour and a half. Then I charred them on the grill. They were yummy, but I wished for just a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I like to add about 1/2 cup of raw onions. The juice from the onions turns this into a paste and makes it stick to the ribs while I marinate them. After about 3 hours of marinating, they are ready to be slow cooked and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Great tasting - my husband cannot stand bbq sauce, so this was a fantastic substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Good as written the salt had no effect on my ribs adding it with the other ingredients. this is very similar to a memphis bbq rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is a great rub. I made a couple of adjustments. I doubled the amount of brown sugar, and cut the salt back to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was very easy and tasty, but a little bit too salty for my taste (many such rubs seem to be so). I'll make it again, but cut the salt way back. It needs to have some salt, but not this much. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used some smoked paprika and some sweet, which had a nice effect since I was slow-roasting the ribs in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is a great rub but was a little too salty for my taste when following the recipe posted. I reduced the amount of salt from 1.5 T to 1 T and did the same with the black pepper. Great on chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Per other reviews I halved the salt and black pepper, but still didn't like this at all. WAY too strong on the paprika IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States