Dry Rub for Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This rub was O.K. but it has a fundamental flaw. Never, EVER rub salt into the meat until just (10-20 mins.) before cooking time! This really dries out whatever meat you are using and adds to the overall saltiness of your dish. I grew up in the midwest and cooked at a rib joint for four years, making literally tons of ribs. Please do not make potentially great BBQ average by salting it too early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Every year I make baby-back ribs for about 60 people for the 4th of July. This dry rub has perfected my recipe! (First, sprinkle ribs generously with liquid smoke, then add dry rub - wrap individually in foil and bake slowly in oven - add some BBQ sauce and throw on the grill for a few minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I used it today for our pork steaks and OMG, it was SOOO yummy. It kept the steaks juicy and was perfect. I did like all the suggestions said and added dried onion and some red pepper. I let it sit in the fridge for 5.5 hours. My husband was raving about it and even my "no, I'll wait and eat pizza at the party" son ate some. I'll be making this OFTEN. I put it in the blender and mixed it all together so I could put it in a seasoning jar. Makes it easier to apply and store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
We really loved this rub. For years I had used one from Cuisine Magazine, but couldn't find the recipe anymore. I tried this one and my family raved that they were the best ribs yet. I made some alterations... * Cut back to about 1 Tbsp kosher salt * Used 1 teaspoon pepper * Used 1/2 Tablespoon garlic powder * Added about 1 tsp of dry mustard powder I cooked the ribs in a slow oven (about 250 degrees) for 3 1/2 hours. This was for 2 2 slabs. Then, grilled them and added some BBQ sauce while grilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
My food tasted like brine after using only a tiny amount of this rub. I'd recommend people halve or quarter the amount of salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Overall, a very good rub. However I upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, cut back the salt to 2 tsp. and the black pepper down to 1/2 tsp. And, because I love to play with a recipe I added 1 tsp. of onion powder, 1 Tbsp. of cumin, and 1 Tbsp. of chili powder. I rubbed some baby back ribs with this and marinated for a few hours vs. overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This a very nice dry rub. So easy and fast to prepare. A person is also very likely to have all the ingredients on hand. A real plus in my house! I used this dry rub as a base for BBQ country ribs. I tasted the ribs with only the dry rub and then after the BBQ was added. My family and I liked better with just this dry rub on it. Give this recipe a whirl, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This was a wonderful rub! I did take suggestions from other reviews and added chili powder and onions, and I also used fresh pressed garlic in place of the powder. We Love this rub on all meats! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is delicious! I've tried it on ribs that have marinated for 3 hours, and on ribs that I just rubbed down and threw in the oven. Tastes the same! It comes out a little spicy, so next time I might cut the black pepper in half. But still finger lickin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I have made this over and over again. It is wonderful. With only 5 ingredients, it tastes too good to be true. ***** 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States