Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used this to make dressing. I found the thyme to taste strange in ranch dressing, so I used dill instead. Tasted much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe was a life saver for me... I was making an Antipasto pasta salad for a dinner party and could not find the packet version in my pantry (sure I have a secret pantry thief, as over this last week I had a move around and now, can't find a thing!!!). The only thing I will say is that I halved the amount of salt, and found it a little on the salty side. Would have liked to have added dill weed, but didn't have any. In future I will be making this, rather than paying $1.50 from the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was by far my favorite dry ranch recipe! I followed others' advice and only used 1/4 salt and 1/4 seasoned salt- I didn't have thyme, so I didn't use it.. It tasted GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was excellent! I made salad dressing with it. Followed recipe exactly except it needed more buttermilk as it was too thick. I usually make my own dressing with tends to be a savory vinegar and oil or a sweet vinegar, oil and honey variations. But I LOVE ranch dressing and was a little nervous about making it. I won't buy the bottled again. I'll just have to keep some buttermilk in my fridge at all times! I made mine 2 days ahead of time. I think this definitely helps marry the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Had to double all seasoning used Creole season salt. Added dill, not bad. Best if flavors are left to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
A great combination of spices. I added a little dill and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I took the advice and added dill weed, but shouldn't have added so much thyme. I think next time I'll leave out the thyme and just add a pinch if needed. Otherwise, this was great to whip up. I also added a few drops of Cholula. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Make a big batch and keep it in your cupboard for seasoning various things. I just add it by taste to equal parts mayo and sourcream for the dip version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Wow. This was gross. At first I cut back on the pepper and seasoned salt as many suggested - and it was gross. Then I added the rest of the salt and pepper - still yucky. Don't make this unless your taste buds are all dead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this to use as a dry seasoning in another recipe because I didn't have any store bought ones on hand. It was kinda gross, all I could taste was the thyme. Didn't taste like ranch at all! Maybe it was because I didn't add the mayo & buttermilk to turn it into a dressing....but it just didn't do it for me at all, sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States