Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Add a tablespoon of buttermilk powder and this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My family really likes this. It's not much different from the packaged ranch mix. From now on I will use this mix instead of the expensive package mix. Very good recipe for flavor and savings. And as others have said it is versatile. I only use 1/2 tea of pepper and 1/8 tea of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used table salt and added it to sour cream. It was amazing. I would like to try using the buttermilk version, watering down a bit for a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I don't ever buy ranch dressing or dip because they generally have ingredients that I don't want to serve to my family (MSG, too much salt). This recipe, then was a really good starting point for creating a ranch dip that my family could all enjoy. I didn't have seasoned salt (I prefer to mix my own when I need it), so I replaced that about 50/50 with Kosher salt and celery salt. I added the mix to sour cream and buttermilk to achieve the consistency I liked, and I got rave reviews from the friends and family who had it and couldn't believe it was that simple to mix from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used 1/2 tsp pepper and it was way too much, all you could taste was pepper. I'd go with 1/4 tsp if your pepper is finely ground (like mine is). I also agree to cut back on the seasoned salt. Overall a good recipe in a pinch if you need ranch dressing and have no mix on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I was looking for a homemade ranch seasoning to add to plain greek yogurt to make a healthy ranch dip for veggies without all of the preservatives and stuff that come in the store packages, and this is just what I was looking for! I adjusted some of the seasonings based on personal taste (a little less salt, a little more onion powder) and it tastes just like a Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I whisked the dry seasonings with light sour cream and skim milk instead for a dressing, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was perfect! Just the right taste and thickness for a dressing. And soooo easy too. I used 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp seasoned salt and added 1/4 tsp dill. Also I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp and used white pepper. I might experiment with more pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good basic recipe for dry Ranch and I did like it but using the herbs in the measured amount was a very bland dip so I gave it 3 stars. I just kept adding the herbs until it was right and I had to triple the amount called for to get it right. I am still glad I had this for the basic idea though! I used plain yogurt not mayo so this may have made a differance. It was a good dressing/dip in the ebd though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent. Followed Sarah Jo's suggestion and added a bit of dill. Very nice dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States