Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I don't ever buy ranch dressing or dip because they generally have ingredients that I don't want to serve to my family (MSG, too much salt). This recipe, then was a really good starting point for creating a ranch dip that my family could all enjoy. I didn't have seasoned salt (I prefer to mix my own when I need it), so I replaced that about 50/50 with Kosher salt and celery salt. I added the mix to sour cream and buttermilk to achieve the consistency I liked, and I got rave reviews from the friends and family who had it and couldn't believe it was that simple to mix from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used 1/2 tsp pepper and it was way too much, all you could taste was pepper. I'd go with 1/4 tsp if your pepper is finely ground (like mine is). I also agree to cut back on the seasoned salt. Overall a good recipe in a pinch if you need ranch dressing and have no mix on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I was looking for a homemade ranch seasoning to add to plain greek yogurt to make a healthy ranch dip for veggies without all of the preservatives and stuff that come in the store packages, and this is just what I was looking for! I adjusted some of the seasonings based on personal taste (a little less salt, a little more onion powder) and it tastes just like a Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I whisked the dry seasonings with light sour cream and skim milk instead for a dressing, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was perfect! Just the right taste and thickness for a dressing. And soooo easy too. I used 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp seasoned salt and added 1/4 tsp dill. Also I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp and used white pepper. I might experiment with more pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good basic recipe for dry Ranch and I did like it but using the herbs in the measured amount was a very bland dip so I gave it 3 stars. I just kept adding the herbs until it was right and I had to triple the amount called for to get it right. I am still glad I had this for the basic idea though! I used plain yogurt not mayo so this may have made a differance. It was a good dressing/dip in the ebd though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent. Followed Sarah Jo's suggestion and added a bit of dill. Very nice dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is great. I use it to make croutons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you for this recipe!!! Its good to know that this equals one packet of dry mix. I used it on a spicy pretzel recipe because I didn't have the dry mix and it turned out just great! Tasted the same as with the packet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I needed a substitute for Ranch dressing mix because my husband can't tolerate MSG. This is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States