Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I don't ever buy ranch dressing or dip because they generally have ingredients that I don't want to serve to my family (MSG, too much salt). This recipe, then was a really good starting point for creating a ranch dip that my family could all enjoy. I didn't have seasoned salt (I prefer to mix my own when I need it), so I replaced that about 50/50 with Kosher salt and celery salt. I added the mix to sour cream and buttermilk to achieve the consistency I liked, and I got rave reviews from the friends and family who had it and couldn't believe it was that simple to mix from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used 1/2 tsp pepper and it was way too much, all you could taste was pepper. I'd go with 1/4 tsp if your pepper is finely ground (like mine is). I also agree to cut back on the seasoned salt. Overall a good recipe in a pinch if you need ranch dressing and have no mix on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I was looking for a homemade ranch seasoning to add to plain greek yogurt to make a healthy ranch dip for veggies without all of the preservatives and stuff that come in the store packages, and this is just what I was looking for! I adjusted some of the seasonings based on personal taste (a little less salt, a little more onion powder) and it tastes just like a Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I whisked the dry seasonings with light sour cream and skim milk instead for a dressing, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was perfect! Just the right taste and thickness for a dressing. And soooo easy too. I used 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp seasoned salt and added 1/4 tsp dill. Also I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp and used white pepper. I might experiment with more pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good basic recipe for dry Ranch and I did like it but using the herbs in the measured amount was a very bland dip so I gave it 3 stars. I just kept adding the herbs until it was right and I had to triple the amount called for to get it right. I am still glad I had this for the basic idea though! I used plain yogurt not mayo so this may have made a differance. It was a good dressing/dip in the ebd though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent. Followed Sarah Jo's suggestion and added a bit of dill. Very nice dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is great. I use it to make croutons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Thank you for this recipe!!! Its good to know that this equals one packet of dry mix. I used it on a spicy pretzel recipe because I didn't have the dry mix and it turned out just great! Tasted the same as with the packet. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I needed a substitute for Ranch dressing mix because my husband can't tolerate MSG. This is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States