Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
All three of my girls along with my husband love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMAS GRILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlewood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This dip was awesome, but I had to make a few changes. If I had made it exactly as written, I don't know that it would've been as tasty. Here's what I did: 1) decreased pepper to 2-3 grinds of fresh pepper, 2) used regular salt & decreased to 3/4 tsp--next time I'll only use 1/2 tsp, 3) added 1/8 tsp of dried dill weed, 4) mixed with plain sour cream and a little plain yogurt to give it a more "tangy" flavor. With these changes, it was fantastic! I'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBenhase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Richmond, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I thought the idea of adding dill was excellent. If you make up a big batch of this and store in a container, you will need to use one tablespoon of the mix per cup of mayo/sour cream for your dressing or dip. I am living in China for the time being and it's difficult to find seasoning packets and buttermilk, so I love that I can make something homemade to replace the things that are available in the states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This recipe was a great find to whip up at the last minute. I added the above ingredients to about 3/4 Cup each light sour cream and light mayo and it tasted awesome. Almost just like store-bought. I also added a dash of cayenne for some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Laurent, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
dill.... it's missing dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
WAAAAY too much pepper. I might try to make it again, but will use MUCH less (if any) pepper. Seemed like it could have potential if it wasn't killed by the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was very good. I tasted it after putting it together and added a little dill weed for some extra flavor. I also added a little extra seasoned salt. I made this as a dip and added 1 3/4 cup sour cream (which was basically a larger container of sour cream) and then a little bit of milk (using the vinegar substitute for buttermilk) but less than the called for amount. We thought it was very good and it definitely saved some money. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet R.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Used this mixed with sour cream for topping tater skins. Very good. Did add dill weed as other reviewers suggested. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I love that I don't have to rely on a seasoning packet to make ranch dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Top Notch! I actually live overseas and can't find any dressing packets (let alone Ranch!) so when I found this recipe I was so excited. I made it into a dip for a party last night and it was devoured. I guess everyone was as excited as I was to have Ranch! :) I know it sounds silly - but thank you for posting this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States