Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was good, to make on hand when needed. It's missing something that I can't put my finger on. I cut back the salt and changed it to kosher salt, as that's what other testers did as well. I also added 1/4 tsp. of ground red pepper, which gave it a bit of a kick. Using buttermilk is key when making this. I might keep experimenting. I plan on adding dill weed next time. EDITED 06/11/08: I added dill weed. That's what's missing. Much better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5, because per previous reviews, I halved the amount of salt, and I think that was the right decision. Instead of the 1 tsp of seasoned salt, I put in 1/4 tsp of seasoned salt, and 1/4 tsp of regular salt. That seemed to be just the right amount. I made this into a dip with 1/4 cup buttermilk, an 8 oz container of fat-free plain yogurt, and about 1/2 cup of light mayonnaise. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This stuff is wonderful. I don't use buttermilk, but I use milk and vineger as a substitue. Tastes just like restaurant style ranch. Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Amazing! I used 1 tbls of powdered buttermilk mix (much easier to have on hand than buttermilk) & just added water until the desired consistency. I never buy ranch anymore. Thanks a mil!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girata
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I don't think pepper is really needed, or the amount called for is way too much. Try adding pepper to taste. For better taste allow it to mellow in the fridge for about an hour or longer, if possible. I used 1/2 fat mayo and 1% Buttermilk. Also, when using the amounts stated, you get a thick dressing. It looked like more of a dip to me, so I added an extra cup of buttermilk to thin it out and a tad more spice to compensate for the additional buttermilk. I REALLY couldn't tell this was a low-fat dressing. My finished dressing was very tasty and turned out to be about 28 calories a tbsp. Next time I want to try fat-free or 95% fat free mayo and see how that tastes. Thanks for the great recipe that has become a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This recipe makes a wonderful ranch dressing!! (use the mayo and buttermilk) I made a chicken tortellini salad, and I wanted a buttermilk ranch to use warm over the salad. This recipe was so fast to make and was delicious! I recommend it highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A great mix to keep on hand- with no unpronouncable ingredients. I scale the recipe for 30 servings and store the rest in a jar. I also like the dressing made w/ more buttermilk than mayo- it tastes more tart and fresh like the bottled stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I used this today for the "ranch oyster crackers" from here. It worked great. Only changes I made were that I did not use pepper and I used regular sea salt instead of season salt. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was a good recipe, next time I think I will use plain salt instead of the seasoning salt, as that seemed to come through strongly. I only used half the amount of mayo and the full amount of buttermilk for a salad dressing. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Love this Recipe! I make extra and store it in my cabinet for Seasoning meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MainStreetCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States