Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip or Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My family really likes this. It's not much different from the packaged ranch mix. From now on I will use this mix instead of the expensive package mix. Very good recipe for flavor and savings. And as others have said it is versatile. I only use 1/2 tea of pepper and 1/8 tea of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used table salt and added it to sour cream. It was amazing. I would like to try using the buttermilk version, watering down a bit for a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I don't ever buy ranch dressing or dip because they generally have ingredients that I don't want to serve to my family (MSG, too much salt). This recipe, then was a really good starting point for creating a ranch dip that my family could all enjoy. I didn't have seasoned salt (I prefer to mix my own when I need it), so I replaced that about 50/50 with Kosher salt and celery salt. I added the mix to sour cream and buttermilk to achieve the consistency I liked, and I got rave reviews from the friends and family who had it and couldn't believe it was that simple to mix from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used 1/2 tsp pepper and it was way too much, all you could taste was pepper. I'd go with 1/4 tsp if your pepper is finely ground (like mine is). I also agree to cut back on the seasoned salt. Overall a good recipe in a pinch if you need ranch dressing and have no mix on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I was looking for a homemade ranch seasoning to add to plain greek yogurt to make a healthy ranch dip for veggies without all of the preservatives and stuff that come in the store packages, and this is just what I was looking for! I adjusted some of the seasonings based on personal taste (a little less salt, a little more onion powder) and it tastes just like a Hidden Valley Ranch Dip Mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I whisked the dry seasonings with light sour cream and skim milk instead for a dressing, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was perfect! Just the right taste and thickness for a dressing. And soooo easy too. I used 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp seasoned salt and added 1/4 tsp dill. Also I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp and used white pepper. I might experiment with more pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good basic recipe for dry Ranch and I did like it but using the herbs in the measured amount was a very bland dip so I gave it 3 stars. I just kept adding the herbs until it was right and I had to triple the amount called for to get it right. I am still glad I had this for the basic idea though! I used plain yogurt not mayo so this may have made a differance. It was a good dressing/dip in the ebd though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent. Followed Sarah Jo's suggestion and added a bit of dill. Very nice dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is great. I use it to make croutons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States